Shake, Rattle and Roll

This post has now deleted itself four times. WordPress does not what you to know about protein shakes and supplements apparently. Let’s try this one more time before I freak out.

My meals for the first half of the day:

Chocolate pure protein mixed with almond milk (pre-bike to work), apple with almond butter (snack), green smoothie (lunch – recipe under “recipes”)

And my supplements:

Betaine (digestive enzyme), Beet Flow (bile function), Electrolyte Deficiency (yup, I’m broken), L-Phenylalanine (amino acid), HCL-zyme (digestive enzyme), b-12 (metabolism), Cal-Amo (acid/alkaline balance). I know it seems like a lot, but I’ve struggled with health issues for YEARS without doctors figuring out what was wrong with me. Finally my internship hooked me up with a natural health practitioner and my insides feel like I’m a new person. Plus, they regulate my crazy so I don’t have to be on mood stabilizers. How awesome is that? More on supplements later. Right now, let’s do a review!

Since I’ve started training harder, I’ve almost tripled my protein intake. That being said, I’m always on the lookout for great protein powders, shakes and bars. The caveat is, I try not to have any sugar or too many carbs in general. Right now, I use Trader Joes’ Quick Dissolving Powder and the nutrition stats are hard to beat. 110 calories, 23g protein, 0g carbs. It doesn’t have a taste, which many reviewers seem to dislike, but I like the versatility of it. I usually mix it with unsweetened vanilla almond milk and kale, maybe with a little stevia if I want something sweet. It would also be good for bread or baked goods like pancakes or muffins if you’re looking to up the protein content. However, I keep reading that the body doesn’t assimilate the soy protein as well as whey and egg white, so I’m trying to find a good alternative with comparable nutrition stats and decent taste so that if I do switch over to an animal based one, I feel more justified in doing so.

At the expo last weekend, I had the opportunity to try a couple. My review for Mix1 is below:

I tried Mix1 Lean Acai-Pomegranate and Mix1 All-Natural Chocolate. The guys at the table were cute and really nice, but how does the product measure up?

I’ll rate 1-5, 1 being I wouldn’t buy again, 5 being it will always be in my kitchen.

Mix1 Lean: 90 calories, 10g protein, 10g carbs (7g sugar, 3g fiber). Protein: whey protein isolate. Sweeteners used: cane sugar, maltodextrin, juice concentrate and stevia.

Verdict: The taste was good, without a real discernible aftertaste  which I liked. The consistency was a little watery for a shake though. The stats aren’t bad, but I don’t love that the carbs match the protein content, even if only 7g are active. Why does it have to have the cane sugar and maltodextrin? Can’t an all natural company make a good product without supporting agricultural subsidies? On the plus side, the ingredient list is pretty short so props for that, but I have a hard time shaking the corn thing. I despise corn-based sweeteners. I’ll give it a 3, with room to improve if they ditch the excess sugar.

Mix1 All-Natural: 200 calories, 15g protein, 29g carbs (22g sugar, 3g fiber). Protein: whey protein isolate. Sweeteners used: evaporated cane juice, cane sugar, maltodextrin, and juice concentrate.

Verdict: Good initial taste, but it had that classic protein shake aftertaste. The ingredient list wasn’t too scary, which was also nice. That’s where the positives end I’m afraid. Almost double the carbs as protein which I find to be unacceptable, to put it simply. The sugar alone (22g) is more carbs than I consume on a normal day. You could drink two of their lean products for more protein and less sugar and calories. It makes my brain hurt. I’ll give it a 2, because if I was faced with this and Muscle Milk, I’d likely go this route,  but I probably won’t be searching it out.

What’s everyone’s opinions on protein sources? I like the Pure Protein powder as far as whey goes because it’s super high in protein and low in carbs, but don’t love the idea of sucralose. What are some favorites?

5 thoughts on “Shake, Rattle and Roll

  1. thekafeno says:

    Another great protein shake is Arbonne Essentials Protein Shake Mixes — Vanilla or Chocolate you get 20 grams of vegan protein and 20 essential vitamins and minerals in a form that allows for maximum absorbtion.
    Find more information at thekafeno.com. I also have 5 day and 10 day trial kits for Arbonne Essentials.

  2. Laura says:

    Can you give more info on the supplements you have pictured. I have been using Beetflow, Betaine HCL & a digestive enzyme for the past four weeks. Ive been looking for someone who has been taking them in hopes to find a review. I havent seen much dramatic results myself as far as digestion. I guess I have to cut more carbs out of my diet.

    • sambangs says:

      To be perfectly honest with you… I don’t take them anymore.

      I’ve found I get more consistent results drinking a tablespoon of raw apple cider vinegar in the morning.

      If you’re really diligent and cut out excess starches, you can start to see results in an another month or so, but for me, it just wasn’t something I saw myself doing long term. I simply don’t like having to take all those pills every time I eat. They can be of great benefit to people though, so stick with it if you think it’s something you’re going to be able to do long-term; otherwise, rethink the path you’re on.

      You can email me at lifeisbangin@gmail.com if you have any more questions.

      Cheers and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

