Food Glorious Food

I made a big mistake yesterday…

I forgot to bring a second snack with me to work. Correction; I only really brought snacks instead of actual meals, AND forgot a PM snack. Protein shake for breakfast, seaweed and clementine for my first snack, mixed nuts, a banana and carrots for lunch. Normally it wouldn’t a be huge deal. Yes my blood sugar gets low and I get cranky, but I generally remedy the situation pretty fast once I get home.

Yesterday though, I was on a mission. I haven’t really been grocery shopping since before I moved into my new place, so I really needed to stock up on veggies and some staples. Rode my bike home from the office (2.3 miles), walked to the metro (1 mile), and walked to the grocery store (.5 mile). This adventure started 3 hours after I’d last eaten, so by the time I got to the store, my head was pounding and I wasn’t feeling too good. Did my usual browsing of the veggies and was sticking to the outside aisles (processed food in the middle ones, ick) when I found myself face-to-face with the ice cream freezer. Everyone always says you’re not supposed to go shopping on an empty stomach, so this probably goes double for someone with an ED.

By the time I realized what I was doing, I had figured out the most cost effective way to binge on ice cream before too much of the sugar would hit my bloodstream. Yeah. I’m happy to report I was able to put the ice cream down and walk away. I’ve been making too much progress to be thwarted. Instead I quickly finished my shopping, hopped back on the metro and stopped for dinner at Panera before walking to rest of the way home. Yes, it seems lazy, but I needed food in my system STAT or that last mile walk would not have ended well.

image

Mixed things up from my normal routine and just got a big salad since I hadn’t really eaten a true meal yet. This is the Asian chicken. I’ve been wanting to cut back on animal proteins again, but this was too damn convenient. It’s one of the cheapest salads and the lowest in calories. Got the dressing on the side and used not quite half. I felt better but I was still kind of shaky for the rest of the night.

Finished my walk home and put groceries away. Now, I know this is probably going to seem really excessive for one person; and it is. But the stuff from Fresh and Easy always seems to keep really well and lasts me a good 2-3 weeks. I already had a bunch of protein (tofu, meatless balls, salmon and steak) so this was some staples and veggies.

image

What I bought: organic greens, 2 1/2 gallons of sunflower seed milk, coconut oil, organic marinara, goat cheese, raw almonds, zucchini, bell peppers, organic broccoli, broccoli slaw, bean sprouts, organic grape tomatoes, “stew mix” (diced onions, celery and carrot), organic medium brown eggs, daiya, spicy hummus, and baby carrots.

I also picked up some kale at Whole Foods earlier in the day. Add that to the total spent at Fresh and Easy and it’s 57.21, but I had a coupon for $10 off every $50, so my groceries were only $47.21! And the coconut oil I only have to buy like, once every 2 months, so it’s really more like 40 bucks. Yes, some stuff probably would’ve been cheaper at Trader Joes and no I didn’t buy all organic like I would like too, but still a pretty great haul.

I like to prep stuff for the week so that when the time comes to eat I can’t make excuses.

So I hardboiled 6 eggs. Made salads:

image

Two kale smoothies (recipe under “recipes”), and carrots with hummus:

image

Which was perfect this morning because I didn’t have to feel rushed! My lunch was all packed, so I got to relax, drink my smoothie, and talk with my new roommate (whom I adore!) before biking (2 miles) to the gym.

Then all hell broke lose. Trainer totally kicked my butt today. Exercises included:

  • Uneven bosu squat with front kick
  • Bench jump overs
  • Lunges with side lat raises
  • This cool figure-8 machine thing I love (gotta find the name; it reminds me of the wave style cardio machines that had at UM, but more intense)
  • X crunches with weight
  • TRX ab/glute crunches
  • Plyo Lunges
  • Round House kicks (on the bag)
  • Weighted Pulsing Squats
  • Plyo Squats
  • TRX Lat Pull-Down
  • Hip Adductor with Pulse
  • Leg Extension with Overhead Raise
  • Jackknife Crunches
  • Pull Across with Resistance Band

All of these are grouped into 3 exercises/circuit, with 3 sets of 15-25 reps (except the machine, which is for 1 minute). Cooled down for 20 minutes on the elliptical. Then biked to the office (2 miles). By the time I got here I was RAVENOUS (and incredibly sore) so I had my raw almonds and an apple. Been sending some e-mails, ran a couple errands, and have been working on this post. Just finished up lunch.

Salad with hardboiled eggs dinosaur kale, green kale, bean sprouts, celery, carrot, onion, goat cheese, grape tomatoes, spring greens and a smidge of raw garlic spread. Not too shabby!

I’ll have my carrots and hummus later, around 3:30/4. Not sure what I’ll make for dinner yet… Man, I love food.

3 thoughts on “Food Glorious Food

Leave a Reply

