Hump Day

I had really good intentions of getting up early and running before work this morning.

Really!

But when my alarm went off, it just wasn’t happening. My body and head screamed at me, “How dare you wake us before absolutely necessary!?”

That’s when I realized I’m PMSing and I haven’t been giving my body the extra minerals it needs so it knows that when my special time of the month comes, it won’t be out of resources. Oops.

So for breakfast I shook things up:

image

Apple with almond butter, my supplements, some white tea and a big thing of water with some of my electrolyte/sulfur stuff (forgot to grab a pic) that usually gets the job done. My head is still a little fuzzy, but I feel less worn out, so it’s working. Tried to push myself biking to work this morning. Made it about 2 minutes sooner than I normally do; probably would’ve been faster if I didn’t hit so many lights. Rocked out at the office while I cleaned for my boss. I have two jobs; production coordinator for the documentary and personal assistant to the producer (who is my personal trainer and nutritionist, and also happens to run a natural health company that I help with). Was a little over-zealous with the cleaning (I scrubbed the freakin kitchen walls), maybe to try and make up for not running, but more likely because my OCD kicks in harder around this time of the month. In any event, the office is a much more pleasant place to sit in today as I do my research spreadsheets and crunch on my red pepper/raw almonds morning snack. Anyone else like eating peppers like apples? Cause damn, it’s real good.

Now for the most exciting part of this post: last night’s dinner.

image

Cheesy Vegan “Spaghetti and Meatballs” with Roasted Red Peppers.

I know what you’re thinking. “But Sam, what about the carbs and the fat!?” Hold tight dear reader! I’m about to knock your socks off with this recipe.

Recipe:

1pk Tofu Shirataki Noodles
6 Trader Joes Meatless Meatballs (or the serving size of your favorite fake meatballs)
1/2 Red Bell Pepper, sliced
1/2c. Your Favorite Pasta Sauce (I used Fresh and Easy’s Eggplant Marinara)
1/4c. Daiya Cheese

Put frozen meatless balls and bell pepper slices on a cookie sheet and put them In an oven or toaster oven at 375 for 10-11 minutes.
Rise tofu shirataki noodles in a strainer. Then put in a pot and fill with just enough water to cover. Boil. When it comes to a boil use two forks to separate the noodles a bit.
Line a strainer with a towel or paper towels and strain the noodles. Squeeze out as much water as you can. Put back in pot.
Add pasta sauce, cheese, meatballs and peppers. Heat through, sprinkle with nutritional yeast if desired and enjoy!

image

It’s cheesy, creamy, has a bit of crunch from the peppers and is the perfect bowl of comfort for when you’re REALLY jonesing for pasta. In hindsight, this should really be two servings with a big salad on the side, but I wanted pasta damnit. But it’s definitely more of a “sometimes food.”

Trying a hemp seed product I got at the Health Freedom Expo on my salad for lunch today, so a review will be in order. Plan for the evening after I bike home is to do another installment of Insanity, provided my roommate isn’t home. If she is, I’ll just have to suck it up and run; extra hard.

How do you motivate yourself to do a workout, whether it’s first thing in the morning, or when you get home from work? Favorite answers will be featured in my next post with a link back to your blog 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hump Day

  1. I try to drink a cup of coffee about an hour before I work out. It gives me a boost and then I really have no excuse not to work out. Plus, if I don’t burn off the caffeine, I have a hard time sleeping.

Leave a Reply

