Working for the Weekend

Work this week has been eclectic (and hectic) to say the least… Board of Equalization paperwork, bank CD’s, trademark law, MORE book editing, trailer editing, government letters, sponsorship contact sheets…

AAAAAAGGGHHHHHH!!!

I’m ready for the weekend.

I’ve been a little off for the past week, and I know it all started with that binge last Friday. Between confusing my stomach with that, and then spiking my insulin levels all week with different desserts, it’s no wonder I’ve been in kind of a weird state. Finally took my pH readings this morning and found I am, in fact, still a mess, so I’m trying to not beat myself up too hard over it. Granted, I shouldn’t have been putting so much toxic stuff in my body, but stressing over that now isn’t going to change it, it’s only going to affect my digestion further.

So INSTEAD, I’m trying hard to make healthier choices while I recalibrate my sugar levels…

Dinner last night was a good step towards that:

imageimage

Salmon “burrito”

Nori, homemade salsa (carrot, onion, celery, tomato, hot sauce, garlic, cayenne, salt, pepper), broccoli slaw, spring mix, salmon burger, daiya)… and then rolled up… making it less-than-photogenic but no less tasty.

And on the side:

image

Zucchini sauteed in coconut and olive oil with garlic, salt and pepper.

Very tasty, very filling dinner. The nori made for a pretty decent tortilla substitute, albeit a messy one. Once I’d finished though, my body was screaming at me for the post-meal sugar it’d gotten used to. So I dug through my EXPO swag and tried to find something with decent stats that would help my craving.

Dessert:

imageimage

Supreme Protein, Chocolate Peanut Butter Wafer Crunch

Why I like it: 15g protein, 4g sugar

Why I don’t: 13g carb (with little to no fiber), 6g sugar alcohol

Taste: REALLY good. I actually really like the sample size; it has half the stats as listen above and makes for a nice dessert-sized truffle. I feel like bars that are this dessert-y aren’t great as meal replacements though because you’re setting off the wrong sensors in your brain. The chocolate is going to give you the please endorphins, but not the satisfied-hunger feeling. Just something to think about…

I’m actually really proud of how long my SWAG stash is lasting. Sam a year ago would have plowed through it all by now, and then be spending the week starving herself and plowing through packs of cigarettes.

Which reminds me…

Yesterday marked 1 month since I quit smoking!!! I know, smoking is disgusting, and yes, it made it very difficult to train as hard as I wanted to. Not to mention, I only started about a year ago so I should’ve kicked that habit a LOT sooner… I guess people do crazy things when they break off engagements…

Understatement of the year.

Felt really groggy this morning (probably because I’m still easing out of the sugar coma I put myself in…) so I had some coffee. I KNOW, I know… One step back to normalizing my insides at a time…

Luckily I had some stevia in my bag.

image

Pyure Organic Stevia

Taste: I couldn’t tell the difference between this and the brand I normally use, BUT I do love that this one is organic. I’m not super strict about buying organic, but when given the option, especially when something is obviously being refined somehow is great.

Had a chocolate whey protein shake for breakfast using the Trader Joe’s brand. Meh. Too many carbs from sugar and didn’t taste great. I prefer the Pure Protein.

Trying to have more fluids than solids today to kind of move everything along… but I did snack on another new product:

Dr. Praeger's Froat

Why I like it: Completely pronounce-able ingredients, 5g fiber, 3g protein

Why I don’t: added sugar, resulting in 30g carbs

Taste: Delish, seriously. Perfect balance between tasting healthy and tasting “good.” I would be willing to sacrifice the chocolate for less sugar though; I think the fruit does enough. You can taste the added rice protein powder, but I don’t mind it; it’s not like the chalky aftertaste of a bad protein shake. The texture is dense and nougat-y, almost like a candy bar, and it’s kept me satisfied for the past three hours or so.

Going to go for a run when I get home; hopefully it’ll shake me out of this fuzzy stupor I seem to be in. Then I have to do some laundry before getting all girly and heading out to party for the evening. Maybe I’ll even post pictures of me looking like a female rather than sweating my butt off. Maybe both! ANYTHING COULD HAPPEN!!!

I’d love to get a few SoCal people together to do the Tough Mudder in July. If you’re interested at ALL, please contact me. I think this could be a blast and a half, as well as a great way to challenge yourself. I’m planning on using the Gladiator Rock’N Run as a kind of warm-up and then keep pushing. Who’s in?

Leave a Reply

