You Just Gotta Do You

Be forewarned; today’s post is going to be all over the place.

Before we get into the food (and let’s be real, that’s what you people come here for), I need to do some musing.

I saw a special preview of Detachment last night and I’ve gotta say, it hit me… hard. To be sure, the message itself was a tad heavy handed, some of the script was a little too on point and the acting was lacking at times. The direction, I must say, was superb. But what got to me wasn’t really the story itself, but random memories bits and pieces of the movie dredged up. I didn’t relate to any one character; but specific moments and elements struck a couple chords way too close to home. By the time we left the theatre my legs were wobbly and I thought I might faint. Couldn’t even form words. And of course the group I went with must’ve thought I was crazy or over dramatic, and if I had been having that reaction because of the “can one person make a difference” message, then I would whole-heartedly agree. But, alas, my past comes back to haunt me once again and I am rendered useless. Luckily, the boy didn’t really push the issue (thank god) and eventually we went to bed where I awoke this morning feeling much better.

At the gym this morning, I was on fire. I don’t think I’ve ever pushed myself so hard with so much success. One of the women that work out there also commented on the power of my kicks and reps of push ups by saying that she wanted “to be Sam when she grows up.” A joke to be sure, but after last night, my initial reaction was to go cold inside. I wanted to shout “no, no you do not!” I realize I do not have a horrible life by any stretch of the imagination, and I am, in fact, happier than I’ve been in a long while. But when forced to reflect upon my past, all I can really see is the negative and think, my god, I would never wish this on anyone. You are so much better off just being you.

And then it hit me.

I say things like that all the time. I wish I was that hot girl, I would kill to have her life, I would be so much happier if I were her. We can’t know the lives of other people. On the surface, they may appear put together, and motivated, and healthy and whatever positive attribute you desire; but we have no way of knowing what they’ve been through and what goes on in their head.

So I’ve decided I don’t want to be someone else and it won’t make me happier if I was “one of those girls who [fill in the blank here].” Instead, I just want to be the best version of ME possible. Just do you, bro, and the rest will come.

Okay, that’s enough heaviness. On a more light-hearted note, I noticed my energy at the gym this morning was intense and crazy focused. At first I thought it might be the negative energy trying to get out, but I normally know what that feels like. Instead it was like, exuberance pouring out of me. And then I thought, “well it must be the sex.”

I don’t want to get too explicit, but I did do my research while cooling down on the treadmill. Check out the links below if you don’t believe me, but I think I’m on to something here.

10 Health Benefits (webMD)

Not just good… (NBC)

The Joy of Researching (WSJ)

7 Reasons (everyday health)

OKAY! ON TO THE FOOD!!!

Met a friend at Whole Foods for lunch yesterday; my myself a salad at the salad bar topped with baked tofu. As I was checking out I noticed they were selling Odwalla Bars for charity for $1 and because I’m a sucker for that sort of thing, I decided it would be a good dessert. I wanted the chocolate one, but I decided to be good and get the original protein.

Odwalla Super Protein Bar

Ingredients: Protein Blend (Soy Protein Isolate, Dry Roasted Soybeans, Soy Butter [Soybeans, Soybean Oil, Salt], Soy Crisp Rice [Soy Protein Isolate, Rice Flour, Malt Extract], Grape Juice Concentrate, Raisins, Rice Syrup, Dates, Vegetable Glycerine, *Organic Rolled Oats, Rolled Barley, Dried Unsulfured Unsweetened Coconut, Barley Malt Syrup, Natural Vanilla Flavor, Cinnamon, Calcium Carbonate, Soy Lecithin, Oat Fiber, Baking Soda, Lemon Bioflavonoids, Green Tea Extract and Vitamins and Minerals. Vitamin & Mineral Blend: Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid), Vitamin E (Tocopherol), Vitamin A, Niacinamide (B3), d-Calcium Pantothenate (B5), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (B6), Riboflavin (B2), Thiamine Mononitrate (B1), Vitamin B12, Folic Acid (Folate), Biotin, Selenium and Chromium Polynicotinate.

I’ve gotta say, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the taste of this. And love all the protein. The carbs are a little high (30g/17g from sugar) and I don’t usually like taking vitamins in bar form, but overall this is great for a product that is available in a lot of places. Even though it has added sweeteners, it’s macrobiotic friendly. PLUS the texture is really great. It’s dense and chewy, and leaves you really satisfied. I highly recommend giving it a shot if you’re on the prowl for a new bar.

Speaking of new bars…

QuestBar Natural Chocolate Peanut Butter

Breakfast this morning was courtesy of QuestBar, a company I met at NPEW. I’d first heard about these from Drew of Fit2Fat2Fit which I won’t go too much into yet, but we get to talk to him for the doc after his TV special comes out, so that’s pretty freakin sweet. ANYWAYS…

These bars are PHENOMENAL. I realize I use that word more than maybe any other 22 year old, but seriously, do yourself a favor and buy one, immediately. Check out these stats:

2 Net Carbs, No added sugar

2 net carbs!? What!? I’m in. Not to mention a short ingredient list AND they use stevia. I’m in love. Just ordered the All Natural Sample Pack. Use the code “SAMPLE” when checking out to get free shipping!

As I’ve already mentioned, after this delicious breakfast I kicked my butt in gear, biked to the gym, had a great workout and then decided I wanted a little extra boost.

While I do fully support Odwalla and love their products, I opted out of getting the Vanilla Protein Monster Shake at Peet’s this morning after my workout. While it boasts a solid 25g of protein, I could just not, in good conscious, consume 34g of sugar after how hard I pushed myself.

Instead, I decided to try the natural Zico coconut water.

Zico Natural Coconut Water; no added sugar

Only 12g of sugar, all from the fruit itself, plus all the added benefits of electrolytes, potassium, iron, etc. Someone told me it rehydrates you better than water to. I’m not sure there’s anything scientific to this, but since I discovered how dehydrated I’ve been keeping myself, I figured it certainly wouldn’t hurt. I’ve gotta say, I’m definitely a coconut water convert. I was always kind of “meh” on it before, but it’s definitely going to be worked into my eating/drinking regimen.

Once I got to work, I was feeling peckish so I broke out this bar from my SWAG stash.

image

Same company as the pumpkin bar from yesterday. This bar was a LOT better. Tasted less sicky-sweet and wasn’t quite as sticky. I don’t love that it has palm oil in it (organic or not) but the sugar content (12g) isn’t terrible. Not a bad grab in a pinch.

After a busy morning of sifting through fundraising stuff, I finally broke for lunch:

Whole Foods Mixed Herb Salad with Homemade Baked Tofu and 1.5 liters of H20

Trying to increase my water intake; that’s my second big bottle than I plan to finish before leaving work today. Yeah I’m peeing a lot, but I feel much more awake and much less crabby, which is definitely good.  I’ll do anything to keep the crazy at bay.

Time to go back to work! So far this whole PR/fundraising thing has been going really well… we’ve raised over half our funds in 2 days! If you haven’t checked out our trailer yet, you can do so by clicking here.

Also, if you like my blog, please take a second to “like” me on facebook or follow me on twitter. I’d greatly appreciate it!!!

2 thoughts on “You Just Gotta Do You

  1. we are totes living in the same frame of mind right now. i spent half an hour at Cstore yesterday sorting through protein bars and looking specifically at sugar content. So many of them are so flipping high. I ended up buying one of the PowerBar “Naturals” along with an Odwalla protein shake. Not so sure about the shake. Flavor was off. But it definitely filled me up for about 2 hours, which is standard no matter what I eat these days. Also, been thinking so much about energy and how odd it is that you can feel so tired one minute and then proceed to rock your way through a workout. just goes to show there’s always something in the tank. Just gotta put your mind to using it all up.

Leave a Reply

