Friday

Nope, no witty title today. As some of you may have noticed, I missed my blog post yesterday.

I simply couldn’t do it. I was completely drained and exhausted. My pHs were totally off (insulin spiked) and my blood pressure was crazy low. It was all I could do to sit at my desk and make it through work with my eyes open. I ended up being really depressed the rest of the night and kind of just wanted to curl up in a ball and cry…

Thank goodness I’m seeing such a patient and understanding guy, however; we went shopping, made dinner, packed for our camping trip (that I’m crazy stoked for), and all the while he tried his damnedest to make me smile. I felt bad, because it’s not something I can just snap out of super easily, and there’s not really anything emotionally that can be done to make me feel better when my numbers get all out of whack like that; but I definitely appreciated it. It was a welcome change from past situations.

I slept pretty well through the night though and got going pretty well. Still feeling a little fatigued, but got myself ready and went to the gym no prob.

Vegan Protein (Maca with Pea and Brown Rice Proteins)

I got both vanilla and chocolate samples of this stuff at NPEW; tried the vanilla in almond milk this morning before biking to go train. It was pretty tasty actually. I don’t know if I’ll be buying a huge tub of it anytime soon as I’m leaning towards whey for my next protein purchase… Plus, I’m not sure it was substantial enough. I got through my workout just fine but was RAVENOUS by the time I got to the office.

BUT there’s no added sugar other than Luo Han Guo which sounds TERRIFYING but upon further investigation turns out to be monk fruit extract. I just learned you some knowledge.

It’s in my favorite Quest Bars too. I ate the cinnamon roll flavor, that was supposed to be my lunch, around 11 because I was just too damn hungry. Tasted just like a cinnamon roll, in the best, naughtiest way possible.

Luckily my boss lets me raid his eggs (that sounds, just, wrong) so I just scrambled a few up for real lunch time.

Here’s what I didn’t get to tell you about yesterday:

image

Breakfast - Vegetarian Sausage Scramble

  • Field Roast Link
  • 1/8 c daiya
  • frozen veggie blend
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

Melt coconut oil in a pan over medium heat. Cut up field roast and add it to the pan with the veggies. Once the veggies are completely cooked through, crack in your egg. Now if you prefer some yolk in there, you can just let it start to cook on top of everything and then just flip it all together so it’s almost like a bizarro  over-easy omelet. If you want to get fancier, scramble everything up all nice so it’s evenly coated and your presentation is beautiful.

As you can see in the photo, I like the yolk. It was craaaazy good. I think the daiya and sausage is what ultimately caused my insulin spikage, but, meh, it was [almost] worth it (no it wasn’t).

Dinner last night, courtesy once again from my favorite person:

image

Low-Carb Chicken Cordon Bleu

For chicken (1 serving):

  • chicken breast
  • 1.5-2 slices nitrate free ham
  • handful shredded cheese (we used raw cheddar – so good!)
  • 2 T flour
  • paprika
  • toothpicks
  • 1.5 T butter
  • 1/4c. white wine
  • 1/4c. chicken broth

For sauce:

  • 1/4c. heavy cream
  • 1/4c. shredded cheese
  • 1 T flour

Over medium heat, melt butter in a large pan. Meanwhile, pound chicken flat and trim off excess fat. Lay ham slices and cheese inside. Fold closed, tucking in corners and secure with toothpicks. Lightly coat in flour and paprika. Put into hot pan and brown both sides. Pour in wine and broth. Let simmer for 35-40 minutes. When chicken is cooked through, remove from pan. Add sauce ingredients to remaining pan liquid and whisk together until smooth. Serve sauce over chicken, with a nice side of veggies! (or eat risotto like he did, lucky bastard)

Put together an AWESOME pitch for Ford today (if I do say so myself) so I’m waiting to hear back on that. I won’t hold my breath though.

Excited to be leaving in a couple hours to go CAMPING down in Temecula. Love me some wine country. Turns out not only his the boy’s sister running Warrior Dash, so is my roommate! Really wishing I could do it…

Oh well, Rock’n Run in 1 month!

I need to buy a lotto ticket today. $640mil! Yes please 🙂

Leave a Reply

