WIAW and Bicycle Seats

image

Bicycle; not for you

Okay, just one bicycle seat: my new one! While the new seat and post cost me what I paid for the entire bike, my butt is thanking me. I ended up buying the Serfas Reactive Gel Saddle with “deep groove design.” It’s a very comfortable seat and the “groove” seems to help balance my rather ample buttocks, which I certainly appreciate.

After I made my purchase, I did some personal training studying over at my “office.”

My study hang out

I have a hard time concentrating just sitting on my bed and reading, so until I get a desk, cafes have to do it for me. Luckily I love Republic of Pie, so it’s all good 🙂

Got the naked veggie quiche and an almond milk chai latte. Forgot how sweet the latte was. Gonna have to go back to decaf espresso instead, but LOVE that they have almond milk. What now Starbucks!?

The quiche wasn’t quite as good as the first time I had it. Maybe because it was later in the day… I’ll give them another chance. I was so diligent in my studies though, that I forgot to take a picture. Oops. It looked like a triangle of egg with veggies in it and a wrinkly, dry tomato on top. Sounds delicious when I put it that way, huh?

Ate this dinner fairly early, then went out with the boy for a late dinner over at Spumante. Man, that place never disappoints. I didn’t need anything huge, so I went with the caprese salad. Holy mother of god. Fresh basil, tangy mozzarella, juicy tomatoes and sweet balsamic glaze; I was in heaven. Depending on what the NoHo farmer’s market offers this weekend in the way of tomatoes, I may be eating this dish fairly often…

This morning was a much less exciting meal:

image

Ghiardelli's cocoa with stevia and almond milk, mint spinach protein shake, and weird chopped salad lunch.

Sam’s Cocoa

  • 1 1/2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 T pure cocoa powder
  • 2 packets stevia
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-3 shakes coarse salt

Whisk together thoroughly over medium heat until hot

It was thick and rich and delightful.

I know my regular green shake is posted under “recipes” but this version was my half-assed attempt at a Shamrock Shake. I’ve recreated it before much more effectively, but it requires ice and yogurt; neither of which I had this morning. The result was a flimsy shake that I guzzled down as quickly as possible. Part of it is that I’m on my back-up brown rice protein powder right now. I gotta get the good stuff ASAP.

Mint Green Protein Shake Variation

  • handful leafy greens (I used spinach and romaine)
  • 1/2 tsp mint extract
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 serving protein powder, vanilla flavor (or, unflavored and add 1 tsp vanilla and 1 packet of stevia)

Blend until smooth.

My lunch was random things pulled from my fridge in a half awake state:

image

Chopped salad? Carrots, celery and a little lettuce topped with a Dr. Praeger's veggie burger and raw garlic spread.

Once I smushed everything all around and everything was coated, it was pretty decent. Probably would’ve been better if the burger was hot, but my stomach was grateful for more vegetables. I considered grabbing another bar for lunch, but I don’t think my body has been too happy with the lack of actual meals it’s been receiving…

After lunch I made some coconut yummies, and while I’ve posted the recipe before, I thought I’d include some pictures to make up for my lack of picture taking yesterday!

image

Coconut Yummy ingredients!

Stir it all up…

image

That brown ick turns into this yummy treat!

I’m supposed to run today, but after the miles of walking and running I’ve done the past two days, PLUS the workout yesterday and some other *ahem* physical activity, my quads are less than functional. I’ll still have clocked in the 5 miles of biking to and from work though, so it’s not like I’m being totally lazy.

If you’re in the LA area, check out NBC4 at 5pm to catch a story on Why Am I So Fat? that includes an interview with the director and producer!

Leave a Reply

