We're Sensational

Why Am I So Fat? is BLOWING UP across national news media right now. Not only is our story being featured on these sites:

NBC Today

MSNBC

Boston Globe

But also on other random local NBC websites in Portland, Kansas and Maine. I am BEYOND excited about how much coverage this is getting, even if my fat face from September is in the story 😉

Please pass along our video. We’re not pushing any one diet or exercise program, no pills, no quick fixes; it’s about looking at your body chemistry and making adjustments. I mean, c’mon– you guys are seeing the food I eat. I’m not starving myself.

Okay, now that I’ve covered that, let’s get to the food I was just talking about!

Dinner last night was a thrown together bowl of deliciousness because I was STARVING by the time I got home.

image

Trader Joe's Meatless Meatballs, Yves Soy Crumbles, Fresh and Easy Organic Eggplant Marinara, bean sprouts and broccoli slaw.

Threw 4 meatballs in the toaster oven and simmered the veggies in the sauce over medium heat while I vacuumed the apartment. Once the meatballs were done, I added them to the pan as well as about 1/3 c. of the soy crumbles (gotta have my protein) and simmered it all until the crumbles were hot. Shook on some nu yeast and PRESTO; healthy, vegan, low carb feast 🙂

Breakfast this morning bent the rules… some nuts, almond milk and…. cereal. I know. I’ve been craving it pretty hardcore though, and I’ve learned to tell the difference between sugar cravings and “things my body needs” cravings and this morning, this body needed some carbs.

On the plus side, it put me in a good mood, and sustained me until my morning snack:

image

Baby jazz apple and mixed nuts

Okay, I went a little overboard on mixed nuts today… but I love them. I’ll reel that in tomorrow… but at least no added sugar 🙂

Now lunch… I’m pretty excited about this.

The boy and I have been checking out 100 Days of Real Food and it’s got me thinking I should probably suck it up and go for the 10 day challenge. I don’t eat a lot of processed foods as it is, and wouldn’t it be awesome if I saw weight loss results from it.

That being said, I have a few things hanging out in my fridge and freezer right now that need to be eaten before I do this. Thus, I got to work in the kitchen last night to prepare some goodies:

image

Meat(less) Muffins and beansprouts

Okay, so the name “meat muffins” isn’t all that appealing… in fact, it’s quite dirty… but they were adapted from a recipe by Jamie Eason on Bodybuilding.com so I decided to keep the name even though I ditched the meat.

Meat(less) Muffins

  • 1 pkg soy crumbles (or 1lb ground turkey for you meat lovers)
  • 2 eggs, scrambled
  • 2 cups veggies, your choice, pureed/finely chopped (I just did this in the magic bullet)
  • splash liquid aminos
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • nutritional yeast

Mix all of the ingredients minus the nu yeast together until everything is fully incorporated together. It should have the consistency of wet, raw meatballs (mmm, delicious). Roughly form small baseball sized balls (about 1/2 cup) in your hands and plop into a greased muffin pan. It should yield about 7 muffins; mine made 6 because I used some of the soy crumbles in my dinner. Shake some nu yeast on top. Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes, and then reduce down to 350 for another 20, or until your muffins are firm. Serve with sauteed veggies or salad.

These are really convenient little protein powerhouses…. 18g in two! I also like the amount of veggies in there… I’m out of fresh veggies, but I don’t want to buy anymore until the Farmer’s Market on Saturday, so I’m trying to be creative 🙂

Excited to be taking part in Foodie Penpals this month! Got assigned my penpal this morning and I’m already coming up with fun things to put in her package…

Not too sure what tonight will bring… I need to call home, but I also want to get in a quick run at some point before it gets too dark. Brought some edamame as a PM snack, but I didn’t eat lunch until 2 so I doubt I’ll need it. Dinner remains elusive…

One thought on “We're Sensational

Leave a Reply

