Making Peace With My Kitchen

I can’t even explain how well I relate to this post.

One Day at a Time: Thoughts on Getting Out of B.E.D.

I spent much of this afternoon buying, preparing, cooking, putting together, and baking ingredients in order to create two quiches for tomorrow’s Easter brunch at my church. I enjoyed every minute of this process and now have two beautiful quiches dotted with bright green asparagus, rusty red sundried tomatoes, and translucent onions. What a wonderful way to spend an afternoon! I’ve truly made peace with my kitchen.

You see, not all that long ago (maybe 5 or 6 years) I was afraid of my kitchen. It was the location of many binges, often brought on by a craving for a sweet treat. The craving for sweets was usually triggered by an emotion of some sort (boredom was the biggest trigger) and I’d tell myself that I could have the treat as long as I baked it myself (fewer preservatives and more wholesome ingredients). My intentions were good, but I would…

View original post 322 more words

3 thoughts on “Making Peace With My Kitchen

    • sexyflexi says:

      It’s still a daily battle… some are easier than others. For the most part, cooking is okay, but baking is still really hard. I was working in a bakery for a little while and it seemed to help that people were watching me, but baking at home is still a scary experience to do alone.

Leave a Reply

