A Weekend of Food and Fun

My Multiple Personality thinks I’m inspirational! And after this week, and especially weekend, I can’t even begin to explain how much I appreciate this. I would actually have to say, out of all the blogs I follow, I find yours to be the most inspirational for me. As someone who has always set lofty fitness goals for myself and rarely have followed through, I find, through your training, a desire to push myself; even if it’s just trying to bike home a minute faster than I did yesterday. So, thanks for that 🙂 You rock my socks.

Now I’m supposed to give 7 random facts about me.

  1. I was colorguard captain after being on the squad only one year.
  2. I played baseball on an all-boys team for about 4 years and had the highest batting average.
  3. Since graduating high school 5 years ago, I’ve never lived in the same apartment for longer than a year.
  4. I freelance as a make-up designer. I specialize in SFX.
  5. When I voted in the 2008 primary, I was so hopped up on pain killers after getting my wisdom teeth out. I had to draw a line from the name to the check box. I worry this is why Hilary Clinton won in NH.
  6. I still remember the opening monologue from the first play I starred in. I was 9. It was Cinderella.
  7. I don’t think about sex nearly as much as I let on.

The 7 blogs I find inspirational:

  1. The Weight Run Down – a fellow New Englander who seems to have followed a similar path to mine in terms of putting the weight on, and she now humorously shares her journey of taking it off again
  2. Wild Things Run Free – after having major surgery and dealing with an abusive relationship, this chick pulled herself up and made herself run. And she’s cute.
  3. Whatup Chickenbutt?– I’ve given Martha an award before, but I really do love this blog. Nothing like cute girls benching a lot of weight to keep me motivated.
  4. The Actor’s Diet – I’ve been following Lynn since I first sought help for B.E.D. Her posts made me even MORE excited during my preparations to move to L.A. Seeing someone be able to overcome and get to a steady place in a career she wants is truly inspiratonal
  5. F’d-to-Fit – cancer survivor turned health fitness nut; reminds me that I have zero excuses
  6. Cut the Fat… – An honest account of the day in the life of a 20-something’s soul-searching and career planning; I relate to so many of the posts.
  7. One Day at a Time – Blog of a former B.E.D. turned author; reminds me that there’s hope

I can’t express how grateful I am to have found all these blogs. Between struggling with living in a new city, my weight, bipolar disorder, B.E.D., job issues and so many these other stresses that seem to pop up when I think I’m finally settling in… I’m humbled and reminded that there are so many other things going on in the world that have WAY more importance than my problems. (Even if they really do suck sometimes).

On to brighter pastures!

image

Garlic Wine Chicken with Steamed Veggies

I’ve already posted the recipe for this yummy chicken, but how pretty does this picture look?

After deciding to try to eat less processed and modified foods, I went on a search for mozzarella cheese that was not “low-fat, part-skim, or non-fat.”

This was very difficult, even in Whole Foods… but I eventually succeeded

image

I used it to try and fix my first low-carb pizza attempt.

image

cauliflower pizza dough, lookin' good

This time I zipped the cauliflower through the magic bullet without cooking it. It was still VERY wet. I tried to press out as much water as possible, but this really should have been done for a few hours through a cheesecloth.

Instead I used paper towels and a fine mesh strainer. Meh. Combined with my egg, cheese and coconut flour, I pressed this puppy on greased WAX paper instead this time, cooked it for about 30 minutes before adding the toppings; about 15 minutes each side.

Then, I added the sauce, some asparagus, chopped up Praeger burger, kale and a little more cheese…

image

low-carb pizza take 2!

Result? It looks great, doesn’t it? Too bad it still fell apart. I blame the excess moisture. I probably could’ve squished it a little flatter too.

While waiting on my pizza and some laundry, I played with my hair and makeup!

The next morning I was glad I’d already dolled myself up, because then I had time to make breakfast before our Saturday of adventure:

image

regular pancakes, for him

These might have been the best pancakes I’ve ever made, solely judging by a lick of the batter and how they look. I can’t eat them and I don’t even recommend YOU eat them, but if you’re all about carbs then this is the recipe for you.

  • 1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon white sugar
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 1 egg
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons butter

Whisk all the ingredients together until smooth. Over medium heat, pour in about half the batter, cooking 2-3 minutes on each side; until golden brown. Finish off the batter. Makes two pancakes.

For those of you that are geared more towards protein, these are for you:

image

less pretty... but still tasty!

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes (adapted from Carrots ‘N’ Cake)

  • 4 tbsp canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 2 TB ground flax
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg

Whisk ingredients until smooth. Over medium heat, pour batter into pan. Cook each side 2-3 minutes/side until firm and golden brown. Makes 3-4 pancakes.

They were good… definitely better than my other attempt at protein pancakes… but still not QUITE perfect. They definitely kept me full all morning though. Usually I’m all over any kind of free food, but when we went to the NoHo Farmer’s Market I found I was pleasantly satisfied and didn’t feel the need to shove everything in my face, which allowed me to enjoy the things I DID sample (sweet strawberries, fresh orange, tomato, lemon almonds, fresh sprouts and some veggie chips).

What I bought: free range eggs ($5/18!!!), grass-fed beef, 2 kinds of kale, tomatoes, apples, broccoli, lemons, microgreens, honey sticks, veggie chips, almonds, cookies (not for me), carrots and basil. It was a pretty good haul and I only have a couple things to pick up at the grocery store for the week 🙂

From there we went to the LA Beer Fest at Paramount Studios!

image

into the pool!

It was my first BIG beer fest, and it came at a good time since yesterday started the “3 perfect weeks” I promised my trainer and nutritionist.

I tried a lot of different beers, but a few stuck out:

  • Lost Coast Tangerine Wheat
  • Lady Face Cask’n Robbins
  • Firestone Brunette (okay, I got the red head at the fest [naturally], but we bought the brunette last week and I liked that better)

Since it was kind of my last hurrah for a while, I felt okay with my decision to try one of the food trucks that I’ve been salivating over since I moved here:

image

Mandoline Grill's Vegan Bahn Mi with Sriracha Aioli

Chewy bread, crunchy pickled daikon and carrots, perfectly seasoned tofu; I may have been slightly intoxicated but this sandwich was AMAZING. I made the boy try it and even though he detests tofu, he thought it tasted good. So do yourself a favor and get one.

After we’d stuffed our bellies and consumed more beer, we headed on to the next bit of our adventure…

Oh yeah, did I mention we walked from Hollywood and Vine to Paramount and back?

We kept ourselves amused along the way…

image

Hollywood Sign Photo Attempt: Fail

Back on the train to:

image

Rode T2 for the first time, which was quite fun, and shared my first Pink’s hot dog, which was quite delicious, then got news from home that kind of stopped our day short.

After having a small mental breakdown in the middle of Universal Studios we took the train home where I was comforted by beer, wine and chicken lo mein. Yeah, none of that is on the list of okay things to eat…

BUT, yesterday started “3 perfect weeks” so I’m not too worried about it.

NO: refined carbs, sugar, caffeine, alcohol

LIMITED: fruits, complex carbs, nuts, beans, dairy

MORE: vegetables, lean proteins, water

Yeah, it’s basically paleo, but I don’t like putting it in those terms because then I just picture large slabs of meat which kind of grosses me out…

I won’t post too much about Easter yet, so I have something to post about tomorrow, but so far so good on the perfection front. I have to admit I’m already craving sugar, but I’m also supposed to start my cycle soon, so that’s just sucky timing.

So far today I’ve had tea, a protein pancake, a snack:

image

and a mixed greens salad with carrots, celery and hardboiled eggs.

Dinner will probably be my last two vegetarian meat muffins and some greens.

What does “perfect eating” mean to you?

3 thoughts on “A Weekend of Food and Fun

  1. actorsdiet says:

    thanks so much for the acknowledgement and very kind words. how funny you were just up the street from me at paramount too!

Leave a Reply

