It's Not Easy Being Green

image

green tea soy latte with stevia

I’ve been doing pretty okay not drinking coffee, but I do love me a good green tea latte. In fact, it is the one thing I think Starbucks is actually doing right, since you can order it unsweetened; then I just add my own packet of stevia.

I love Peet’s Coffee, and since they are in the same plaza as the gym, I go there a decent amount. In fact, the first time I checked in on foursquare in Los Angeles was at that Peet’s and I was all excited because they made me a matcha tea (matcha and hot water) even though it wasn’t on the menu. Now, I’m not usually an ordering “diva” when it comes to coffee or tea. I don’t drink fancy things blended with sugary syrups and topped with whipped cream. In fact, I drink most things plain. However, as someone who has worked in the food industry, I think as long as an establishment has certain ingredients already being offered on the menu, they should be able to use those ingredients to create something else; ESPECIALLY if that something else is simpler, like my matcha tea. See, Peet’s only uses their matcha powder for something called a “freddo,” which I can only assume is their version of a Frappechino. After expressing my desire for hot water and the powder, I was met with a strange look, but it was happily sold to me. I didn’t argue about the price, or try to haggle; I just wanted that tea!

This story brings me to today. After the gym I was feeling pretty exhausted and was starting to get hungry, but still had to bike back to the office before I could eat my snack. Since I am on my perfect 3 weeks and can’t have a coffee with soymilk, and their chai is already sweetened, I figured I’d get a green tea soy latte. Granted, it’s not on the menu, but it’s not at Starbucks either AND I know they have the matcha powder. The first lady seemed fine with it, then she called a manager over to help her ring it up and he all but hit the fan. “We don’t have that.” Yes, I understand, I say, but I’ve come in before and gotten the matcha powder and hot water; do you think you could just give me the powder and steamed milk separately? I thought this suggestion would solve the problem and cut work out for everyone involved. Instead I was met with a very snippy “I don’t know how to ring that up.” I offered that generally they just charge me the price of a tea, so perhaps he could just charge me the price of a soy latte? At that point he didn’t even respond to me and snapped at the cashier to “just charge her for the soy latte” and then he walked away, mumbling to the other workers that “they don’t really offer that.” I’m aware, sir, and I was fully prepared to walk out of there without purchasing anything, given your attitude. But the cashier and barista were friendly, and in the end, I got my green tea soy latte and mixed in my stevia and everything was good. I mean, I know I’m not always bright and chipper, and I’m definitely not the world’s least difficult person, but the guy’s negative attitude about the situation just seemed really unnecessary to me. I was asking for two ingredients that are already listed on the menu; not some elaborate drink with a million different syrups, half caff, lite foam etc etc.

Sigh.

I’m over it, now that I’ve vented. I guess I’ll just be going to the Coffee Bean further down the road from now on.

I did enjoy my latte though; 5 grams of protein and a light sweetness went perfectly with my snack once I got to the office:

image

Fage o% plain greek yogurt

Another 18g of protein, but no sweetness here!

I’ve been a protein fiend this morning, actually. Had a lemon Quest Bar before my ride to the gym for 20g, so I managed to consume almost my daily recommended amount before lunch! I can feel the muscles growing… 😉

Biking to the gym this morning was actually kind of fun, now that I’ve figure out the speeds on my bike. It’s been a very long time since I’ve ridden a mountain bike, so learning which gear to be in on what kind of terrain has been a little frustrating for me. Today though, I realized when I biked home yesterday, my main gears (1-3) got switched on to 2 after locking up my bike. Man, I thought, maybe that’s why biking home felt so much better. So I kept it on 2 and was able to switch the other gears (1-8) on to 5 and practically FLY to the gym. Getting going required some pumping, but once I got up there I was zooooming, and that’s with a heavy backpack!

Circuit today was another nice mix of stuff, but targeted the lower half more. Between kickbacks, lunge kicks and dead lifts, my quads and glutes are gonna be SCREAMING tomorrow. They’ll have the chance to work themselves out early though, as I am going to make the attempt to go 24hour BEFORE work to get some cardio in. Haven’t decided yet if I’m going to do a class or just see what they have for machines. Guess I’ll decide when I get there… I’m excited to get back into the big gym environment. I honestly think that other than my conservatory classmates, my old wellness center is what I miss most about UM. Hopefully a new gym is exactly the push I need!

Now for today’s recipe: Our Easter Hashbrown “Quiche”

image

ham and cheese hashbrown "quiche" over spring greens and green tea

I call it “quiche” because the crust is made of hashbrowns, but it pretty much just tastes like quiche. If I made again just for myself I would omit the potatoes and just do it “naked” (and probably do almond milk instead of the heavy cream!)

  • 1.5 cups frozen shredded hash brown potatoes, thawed
  • 3 T butter, melted
  • 1 cup tillamook monterey jack cheese
  • 1 cup diced fully cooked ham
  • 1 egg (I would’ve used 2)
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon seasoned salt/pepper

Mix the melted butter and the hashbrowns and squish down into your pan. Bake at 425 for 20 minutes. Whisk together your eggs, cheese, ham, cream, salt and pepper. Pour into crust and bake at 350 for  20 minutes or until firm and golden brown.

It was quite tasty; especially because the boy did most of (all) the work!

Back to using My Fitness Pal to track my macros. I don’t care about calories, but I am focused on keeping that protein up and carbs down. Add me if you’d like! And if you haven’t liked or followed me yet, do that too 😉

How about you guys; any coffeehouse mishaps? A favorite drink?

Leave a Reply

