Thousands of Words

They say a picture is worth a thousand words…

So I figured since I didn’t really have time to write an awesome post like I want to, I’ll provide you with a plethora of photos instead!

Don’t you love that word, plethora? It’s one of my favorites.

Anywho…

Friday night after work I had some pent up energy, so I tried my hand at paleo baking:

image

Paleo almond butter oreo

image

Paleo thin mint

Outcome: not great. Edible once frozen for a while, but nothing I would serve anyone. I have a few minor tweaks in the chemistry to make before I share my recipe, but I’m definitely on the right track.

After that, I went to the gym… yup, after training Friday morning I though, what the hell, lets spend Friday night sweaty.

Brought my PT textbook and cranked out an hour on the elliptical, then did some rowing and some abs, then moved to the steam room.

image

progress!

Work is finally paying off, I hope. On week 2 of “3 perfect weeks” and I luckily am not craving sugar *quite* as much, but I am craving alcohol…

After the gym I threw together a quick dinner:

image

kelp, sprouts and eggplant marinara = ugly meal

tasty in a pinch; literally just those things thrown together and warmed up.

Saturday morning I got more adventurous with my cooking:

image

homemade sausage gravy over egg biscuit = pretty meal

I can’t remember the last time I had biscuits and gravy, but I WANTED it.

I sadly don’t have time to post the recipe for you now, but if you REALLY want it, leave a comment πŸ˜‰

Otherwise I’ll have it under “recipes” ASAP

The rest of the weekend was spent at the farmer’s market, watching TED (awesome stuff!), watching roller derby, watching the boy work on his car (while smoking a cigar; not too shabby), watching hockey, studying PT, grocery shopping, and ultimately:

image

field roast sausage and wilted mixed greens

A really good salad!

Yesterday’s salad was not as pretty:

image

wilted arugula with mushrooms and grass fed meat muffins

…but it tasted really good. I’m definitely into this whole “wilted” salad thing. Maybe it’s because I find I feel more satisfied if I eat warm food?

Yesterday at work was INSANE. Okay, today is too.

Been trying to format my boss’ book to be released for Kindle and it just WON’T COOPERATE. But I didn’t freak out (externally) so I got a reward when I got home πŸ™‚

image

my treat! green tea latte with stevia and skim

Normally after that much stress I would binge and/or purge, but instead I let my anxiety ride my OCD…

image

my half of the fridge; finally stocked

organized my fridge first… bought a LOT of food this weekend:

Whole Foods- kelp noodles, almond butter, almond milk, cashews, dried cranberries

Farmer’s Market- avocado, sprouts, cauliflower, apples, grass fed beef, grass fed salami sticks, swordfish

Trader Joe’s- zucchini, broccoli slaw, peppers, hummus, mushrooms, lettuce, yogurt, almond milk (yep, more), tofu, tempeh, haddock, salmon, chicken, chick peas, artichoke hearts, fresh mozzarella cheese sticks, seaweed snacks, frozen veggies, sparkling water

Is it expensive and excessive for one person? Maybe, but it will all last a while so I figured I should take advantage of being driven to the store.

Then I moved on to my room:

image

The only shelf in my room... finally decorated!

My motivation wall

Three and a half hours later, I realized I hadn’t eaten dinner, so I whipped this up:

Pan-seared swordfish steak over zucchini and kelp noodles sauteed in soy sauce.

What else have I been eating? The usual: quest bars, protein shakes, greek yogurt, apples and almond butter.

Worked out yesterday morning on my own and trained this morning; body is BEAT.

Will try to write more later if I can! Hope your week is less crazy than mine so far!!!

2 thoughts on “Thousands of Words

Leave a Reply

