It's all part of the plan.

please indulge me while I let my inner-nerd loose

I am rarely able to stick to a plan. Sometimes it’s because life throws wrenches in.

A lot of times it’s because I must have some deep seeded aversion to sticking to a plan.

I mean, a little over a year ago I was still planning a wedding…

That worked out.

I mean, it DID work out, specifically for the better… just not in the way I had planned.

I use to freak out when plans didn’t go how I had laid everything out. Perhaps it’s the Virgo in me, but I used to make the same lists and schedules over and over again just to make sure everything happened the way I wanted it to. In college, if you cut into my gym time, I would have a near nervous breakdown. Which used to lead to binge eating… you think as an intelligent human being I would abstain from overeating in that scenario since I wasn’t working it off; the brain is a strange thing.

In any event, I’ve managed to grow more flexible. While I still struggle with my anxiety/depression swings, I am, for the most part, able to go with the flow.

Went back to set last night to help do make-up for another scene. It was minimal street make-up that shouldn’t have required any touch ups, so I was told I would probably be able to apply make-up and then leave. Instead, the director decided he wanted me around just in case. Which meant that I’d rushed there, skipped dinner, and was now hungry and tired sitting quietly in the next room they were filming. Old me probably would have freaked out, texted everyone I knew to complain and change social media statuses to say something about incompetent people. Instead I sat quietly, perusing facebook, texting with my gorgeous mentee and the boy. After three hours of my not being utilized, the boy finally got fed up with them and drove all the way to get me and my bike. Talk about a knight in shining armour. Could my patience have lasted longer? Probably. But I was sleepy and super hungry after such a hard day of working out, so I certainly wasn’t arguing with the rescue.

When we got back to his apartment, I knew I had some celery in the fridge so I went and grabbed a few stalks. When he saw that’s all I grabbed, he started digging through the fridge and handing me food to eat. I ended up with colby cheese, turkey, celery and some almond milk. It was exactly what my body needed 🙂 I slept like a rock, even after watching a really messed up movie that would normally give me nightmares.

Woke up this morning even MORE sore that yesterday and I knew there was no way I would be working out before going to the office; there goes my plan! Instead I made us both some breakfast (I had eggs and some organic american cheese) before biking home to shower and get ready for work. Haven’t done laundry in a while so I improvised:

image

hippie skirt!

No idea where that bruise on my forearm came from.

Haven’t worn this skirt in FOREVER, but it’s one of my favorites.

Packed my lunch and biked to work… and somehow was already starving by 10am!

Instead of holding out until my scheduled meal time, I listened to my body and had my first snack early:

image

cinnamon toast crunch chickpeas

Yep, you read that right. Cinnamon Toast Crunch Chickpeas. Sounds crazy enough to work, right?

  • 15 oz. can organic garbanzo beans. Rinsed/drained/patted dry
  • 1 heaping T almond butter (or any other nut butter, really)
  • splash of milk
  • 2 packets of stevia (or to taste; add one at a time)
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • couple shakes of sea salt

Roast chickpeas in 400 degree oven for 20-30 minutes or until *almost* crunchy (the middle should be slightly soft). Warm almond butter and thin with a splash of milk until you get a syrupy consistency. Toss garbanzo beans in almond butter syrup, stevia and cinnamon. Adjust sweetness and spices to your preferences. Put back in the oven for 10 minutes; keep your eye on it so it doesn’t burn.

Makes such a good, healthy, sweet snack to have on hand!

Unfortunately, an hour and a half later, my tummy was growling at me again, so I ate my cheese stick that was supposed to be for my second snack.

Oops.

Luckily my salad was huge and satisfying, so I think I’ll be fine until I get home.

image

Romaine lettuce, artichoke hearts, broccoli slaw, mushrooms, microgreen sprouts and raw garlic spread

I know I said on Monday that today was supposed to be circuit or swimming, but I don’t know if my body is up to it. I don’t want to burn myself out before Saturday even gets here. I’m supposed to be getting in touch with my body and embracing a healthy lifestyle, not stressing out about sticking to some rigid schedule thinking I have something to prove. I don’t.

Provided the weather holds up, I think I may do some yoga in the park instead. My poor aching muscles could use some love and affection.

And then we’ll see how I feel in the morning and play it by ear.

No need to set plans in stone… I’m content to sketch them in the sand.

5 thoughts on “It's all part of the plan.

Leave a Reply

