Chocolate Cake for Breakfast

Yesterday I treated you to the world of eating my favorite color, so at dinnertime, I made sure to practice what I preach:

image

Chard wrapped fish tacos

These were DELICIOUS! I cooked up some haddock and spring onions with garlic, onion powder, pepper, cayenne, cumin and paprika, stuffed it into some chard with fresh avo, salsa and monterey jack cheese.

KILLER!

I think the avo really did it. The batch I picked up at the farmer’s market on Saturday was perfect. And the cheese melted really well; probably because I bought real cheese instead of the pre-shredded which has all the weird starches and what-not in it.

I know what you’re thinking…

“STFU about healthy shit Sam, I came here for cake.”

In due time, my pet.

Yes, this post is dedicated to all of you that think I eat nothing but kale and protein shakes. HA! That would be so boring!!!

Okay, now pause… this is not your grandmother’s chocolate cake. This is not even your mom’s half-assed attempt to make Betty from a box.

This is grown-up, clean, muscle building chocolate cake. Still in?

Good 🙂

image

just noticed how gross this looks.
WHO CARES?! IT’S CHOCOLATE CAKE!!!

Protein Chocolate Cake

  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • tsp cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg (vegans can sub ener*g or flax)
  • 1 T oil (preferably coconut or olive)
  • optional: T of yogurt (makes a denser cake)

Mix everything in a microwave-safe mug until smooth. Those of you still weaning yourself off sugar (and you better be) might want to add a little stevia to make it sweeter, depending on how sweet your protein powder is. Microwave for about 45 seconds, or until just firm. Don’t overcook! Eat plain or top with a dollop of nut butter for an extra special treat 🙂

I love cake. I can’t help myself. But I’m also learning to love my body, and putting sugar and hydrogenated oils that have been dehydrated so they can sit on a shelf for years (I’m looking at you, Crocker) is not a good way to go about treating it.

It’s been a while since I talked about balancing happiness when it comes to fitness and weight loss, and I’m not sure I ever have from a place of positivity. I think the hardest part of conquering both eating disorders and mental disorders is convincing yourself that you deserve happiness. Other people don’t realize how many negative things we tell ourselves, so when someone makes an off-hand comment that sets us off, we tend to accept that as negative validation instead of stepping back and taking it for face value.

I don’t think I’m good enough. At anything, really. I am severely lacking in self-confidence and don’t believe I’m worth anyone’s time. These thoughts can feed into my social habits as well as my eating habits, fueling the idea that I don’t deserve to be skinny, to be healthy, to be successful to be attractive, so I may as well hide in a corner, isolate myself and shove pans of brownies down my gullet to fill the big empty hole that exists because no one will ever love me.

Dramatic much?

What I’m learning, however, is that these voices– they lie to you. ED voices and Bipolar voices that convince you that you’re crazy and disgraceful; you’re NOT. You just gotta dig through the crap to get to the good stuff.

Maybe get some gloves for that; crap is yucky.

And while you are on your journey of self-discovery, don’t let others get you down; even accidentally. Just because someone offers a slight criticism, or makes a quip about a mistake you’ve made, it doesn’t mean you suck at life.

After all, that rabbit REALLY looked like a little old lady and she seemed to REALLY want some cereal.

At the end of the day, none of that matters. The only thing that matters is when you lie down to sleep at night, that you’re treating yourself to positive talk.

Unless talking dirty between the sheets is your thing; in which case, be my guest.

My point is, you won’t just wake up one day and be happy. Sorry. Not happening. But you can take steps to recognizing that you deserve happiness and it is out there for you somewhere.

Chocolate cake for breakfast doesn’t hurt either.

My thoughts not enough? Check out this great article the boy sent me this morning 🙂

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake for Breakfast

  1. You always have such great recipe/meal ideas! I love the eat your foods by color idea. I actually had one summer in which (for some strange reason) all I ever craved was orange colored food — tangerines, orange cheddar cheese, carrots, roasted red pepper hummus, even carrot cake. Not sure what my body and mind were trying to tell me, but it was kinda fun to just tune in and go with it. Happy cooking/eating!

Leave a Reply

