Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy

Being on this cleanse has forced me to get even more creative with my meals.

I simply am not content with just eating a salad for every meal; who would be?! Craziness.

No, I need my food to look good, taste good, offer a variety of flavors and truly satiate.

Otherwise I eat faces off.

All those years in Miami really did a number on me…

So last night I decided I would try and get a little creative, but quickly, because I was hungry and had an audition to get to.

Happily I bring you my latest concoction:

image

Zucchini Pasta with Easy Spinach and Basil Pesto

For the pasta

  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 1 T coarse salt

Using a vegetable peeler, carefully peel the zucchini the long way creating strips. Peel until you reach the seeds. You can cut them all in half afterwards if you want thinner noodles. Place your noodles in a strainer and salt. Let the noodles drain, occasionally squeezing the excess liquid out. Spread on a tray lined with foil and toast/broil for 5-8 minutes or until the zucchini is warm. Or, if you’re a raw foodie, leave ’em chilly

For the pesto

  • handful of basil
  • handful of spinach
  • tsp minced garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • oregano
  • 2 T olive oil

Finely chop the spinach and basil (if you have a food processor that would work too, but who wants another dish to clean!?). Chop a little extra in case you have sneaky hands stealing some of your chopped green goodness (that they didn’t know had spinach in it :-P). Put green stuff in the bottom of a bowl and shake in spices, then drizzle in the olive oil. Mix until a paste forms. Spread up the side of the bowl (no, I’m not kidding, just do it.) Once noodles are hot, put noodles in the bowl and toss ’em around to coat in the pesto (makes it easier if the sauce is already all over the bowl. See? I thought ahead for you). Serves 1 very hungry paleo/vegan/vegetarian on a vegetable-only cleanse 🙂

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

