it's a new dawn.

Had a really great talk with the boy Sunday night about where I am on this weight loss/ED-battle journey. Fessed-up to the fact that I haven’t been doing so hot, and that even though I initially had a lot of hope in OA, I don’t think it’s going to be for me. I just can’t get into the whole “giving your problem to a higher power.” It’s my problem and my addiction; I want to take control and regain power over my own life.

So with the boy’s support and my own determination, I’m feeling better and have a more positive look on the direction I’m moving in.

Came across Susan Albers and Eating Mindfully, and I will be following the mindful eating challenge she set up in May. I’m usually behind on trends, this shouldn’t be any different!

Yesterday’s challenge was to be aware of the pace you’re eating. I know I usually eat too fast, which is why I tend to overeat regardless of whether I’m enjoying my food or not.

So last night’s dinner I took my time, put down my bowl between bites, and used chopsticks so I couldn’t shovel it into my face. And it was damn good.

It helped that the boy used this time to talk about fun birthday options he has up his sleeve! He’s pretty amazing. I’m fairly convinced at this point that I’ve been through so much shit so that I can karmically deserve to have him in my life.

But I digress… FOOD!

Please excuse the terrible quality of this picture…

image

I should really start using my actual camera… or at least take nighttime photos in the kitchen.

Anyway, it’s my zucchini chicken pad thai with some broccoli slaw and shaved brussels sprouts thrown in. I added some fresh cilantro and lime juice to the sauce last night, and I’ve gotta say, it made a huge difference.

  • 1 T peanut butter
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1 T sesame oil
  • 1 T rice vinegar
  • 1 T water
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1 t maple syrup
  • juice from 1/2 lime
  • 2 t minced garlic
  • 1 t ginger
  • 1 t onion powder
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 1 T fresh cilantro
  • diced scallions (to taste)

Whisk and pour over noodle/protein/veg combo of choice!

Didn’t have to be in the gym this morning until later on, but I still got up with the boy so I could pack our lunches and make breakfast.

He got his regular smoothie, but since I had extra time, I made myself a nice sit-down breakfast.

image

Epically good: Coffee with stevia and almond milk, 1 egg and 2 egg whites with spinach and leftover sausage gravy (next episode of Cook for Your Chemistry!!!)

I sat down at the table, in the sunshine, and ate my breakfast while I read the news. It was fabulous. I’m normally a night person, but I definitely loved having an extra hour in the morning to just relax into the day, rather than rushing out the door. It makes a huge difference. Especially since the meal was so good!

How appropriate that day 2’s challenge is to be aware of how the food tastes and affects your senses.

You’re supposed to pause at the first bite, middle bite and last bite and really be aware of the smell, sense, and chew slowly. I’ll put that into effect on today’s lunch:

image

Red leaf lettuce, shaved brussels sprouts, pan-seared wild salmon, strawberries, avocado and crumbled goat cheese

Had a protein shake as a snack when I first got to work, brought greek yogurt for a snack later on. I like that I’ve planned out (almost) all my meals and snacks for the week. It takes the guesswork out of it, and because my Virgo brain likes to stick to plans, I’m less likely to deviate; especially if I plug it into MyFitnessPal first thing in the morning.

Tonight we’re having the boy’s sister and her boyfriend over for dinner. On the menu is some grass-fed brisket, caprese salad, mixed greens, roasted potatoes (for them), cauliflower mash (for me) and a peach-blueberry crumble pie with homemade berry sorbet. We’re pretty freakin’ awesome.

What have you been eating? Do you eat mindfully?

4 thoughts on “it's a new dawn.

  1. All of that looks so bomb. I am not even hungry and I want to eat your blog right now so bad.
    Anyway – I love my “thought gathering” time in the morning, too. It gives me time to wake up, address any potential issues that could come up during the day, and mentally prepare for them in a peaceful setting – not going to lie, sometimes the snooze alarm takes precedent over that, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

