Pop a Squat

I’ve been sucking lately on the post front.

Because I chopped my finger off.

Okay, I only KIND OF chopped it off. It got a little mangled in an immersion blender when I tried to make pie crust.

And before you say anything, I was stone.cold.sober.

Ugh.
So today is supposed to be Workout Wednesday but since I can really put pressure of any kind on my lift hand, my workouts have been fairly nonexistent. I mean, I’ve been walking to work instead of biking so my finger doesn’t bounce around… which has encouraged the consumption of trenta (yup, you read that right) iced coffees and green teas. That shit’s kinda heavy… but that’s about as intense as I’ve gotten.

This morning, though, I put in about 15/20 of leg work. Namely, squats. So that’s your mission for the day!

Do some squats until your quads and glutes burn like a mother. Then do 25 more. You’re welcome.

A few tips to remember:

  • Squat down until your thighs are at least parallel to the floor. If you don’t go down that far, you’re cheating yourself and doing a fake squat.  Go way down, and you’ll feel it in every muscle in your leg.  This will give you a really strong core along with strong legs and a strong back.
  • Try not to extend your knees past your toes. If you’re doing the squats right, you should be sitting back with your ass out and back straight.
  • Don’t arch your back. The best way to make sure this doesn’t happen is to keep your head up when you squat, and KEEP YOUR ABS tight throughout the whole exercise (that’s right, squats will even work your abs).
  • Stand with your feet slightly wider than hip-width apart, and point your toes slightly outward.

Want to see a good test if you’re doing a good squat? Stand up in front of your desk chair, and ‘squat’ down into the chair.  Are you sitting?  Good. Now stand up without leaning forward at all.  if you’re squatting properly, your ass will be sticking out, your back will be straight, and you’ll be able to stand right back up without having to lean forward to get momentum to stand back up.

The position you want:

  • Flat Back
  • Elbows high
  • Chest up and out
  • Abs tight

 

 

8 thoughts on “Pop a Squat

    • sexyflexi says:

      ouch! I did that too a month or so back… perhaps I need to use rubber gloves when working with sharp objects haha

  1. Boo, finger injuries are the worst… I got in a fight with a can opener last October and damn near removed my thumb from my hand. I’m throwing up in my mouth just thinking about it.
    Heal quickly, and thanks for the squat recap – you can never hear it too many times!

Leave a Reply

