The Right Stuff – Whole30 Recipe

 

Got a request for my stuffed eggplant recipe after Iย  posted the pic yesterday.

I made up this recipe because I originally intended to stuff some mushrooms, and I did that too, but then I remembered I had an eggplant in the fridge that needed to be used… and this delicious recipe was born!

 

Stuffed Eggplant/Mushrooms

This makes enough filling for 6 medium sized portabellas and one medium eggplant

  • 1lb chicken sausage, uncooked, with no sugars, fillers, etc (trader joe’s makes a sweet chicken sausage that is paleo friendly) OR for my vegans, I suggest rehydrated TVP or meatless crumbles instead of tofu sausage, or the consistency won’t be right
  • 1 egg (or egg substitute)
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1/4 cup diced celery
  • 1/2 cup diced zucchini
  • 1 medium eggplant, cut in half with the center flesh scooped out (reserve flesh)
  • handful fresh basil, roughly chopped
  • 2-3 T almond meal flour
  • to taste: garlic powder, fennel seed, S/P

Remove casing from sausage and combine in a bowl with your egg and diced veggies.

Roughly chop the eggplant innards and add about half to your meat/veg mixture.

Add in your basil, flour and spices. I recommend using your hands to really incorporate everything, but hey, to each his own.

Generously grease a baking sheet with olive oil. You probably want to use some foil; there is a LOT of liquid that runs outta these babies.

Arrange your mushrooms and two halves of eggplant on the sheet. Salt and pepper everything. Make sure it’s a good quality sea salt.

Fill each mushroom with a little more than a pingpong sized ball of meat mixture, and each eggplant half with equal parts of what remains.

Bake at 375F for 30 minutes, and then finish it at 425F for 20 more, or until sausage appears to be cooked through.

Serving size is 1/2 eggplant, or 3 mushrooms. Round out your meal with a salad ๐Ÿ™‚

Excited for bootcamp tonight; seems like a decent amount of people are coming! Kicked my own butt as quickly as possible in the gym this morning since a late start didn’t allow me as much time as I wanted, but hey, I made it work.

If you’re in the LA area (or know someone who is) and you’re interested in a $5 BOOTCAMP! then leave me a comment and I can give you more details ๐Ÿ™‚

Time to go tackle the heat and eat some lunch!

 

3 thoughts on “The Right Stuff – Whole30 Recipe

Leave a Reply

