Move Over Trader Joe's

Halfway through training of my new job and I’m loving it so far. Learning a lot about the biomechanics of the foot, and running in general, as well as flexing my customer service skills.

I also had the pleasure on Tuesday to interview Adam Bornstein, the editor of Livestrong.com, former editor of Men’s Health, & all-around hilarious and attractive fitness writer/researcher.

To learn more, visit his website, facebook, or follow him on twitter. He’s got some amazing things to say, and next to Ashley Borden, he’s probably my favorite interview we’ve done to this point.

Instead of going hard again at the gym yesterday before work, I decided to clean around the boy’s apartment and then swim. I suck SO HARD at swimming, but I think I’m getting better… googles would probably help. My back and arms are strong but my legs get so freaking tired. I don’t understand how this is possible given that I bike everywhere, but whatevs.

Speaking of biking… so as I’ve said, I’ve been biking for about 8 months now. But I’m still ALWAYS sore! My quads burn, my hips ache, and there are days when I really think I can’t do it.

Well on my way back from work yesterday I decided to raise the seat about 1.5 inches. WORLD OF DIFFERENCE. Even though it’s now terrifying to stop because my legs are so short and I can just barely get to the ground, I now have a full extension in my leg so ALL of my muscles are helping me pedal rather than just my upper quad which was making my hips tight and putting a lot of pressure on my knee.

I rewarded my revelation at Republic of Pie…

image

coconut milk latte, extra hot

Last night’s dinner was half a salad from Panera, as I had to grab a couple of interviews for the doc. Made for a long day!

Woke up this morning trained a client (basically it was bootcamp with one camper, but saying client makes me feel official), then relaxed with a liquid breakfast…

image
water, coffee and a pumpkin spice smoothie

In the office today, one more CLIENT this evening, and then the boy and I are going to make CHEESE! Fun, right?

Story time…

Don’t worry. this leads to food.

So the boy and I are adorable and do grocery shopping together, and try to plan meals for the week. Sometimes we have a plan ahead of time and sometimes we make it up in the store. This time was the latter. Trader Joe’s happened to be sampling this enchilada bake that was supposed to be super simple if you used their tortillas, pre-cooked chicken, bottled enchilada sauce and pre-shredded cheese. I liked it, the boy dug it, but I just can’t be buying all this pre-made stuff when I know I can do it better.

True, the whole point of Trader Joe’s is that they don’t put weird preservatives into their packaged foods, but still; soybean oil is quite unnecessary in enchilada sauce, chicken does not take long to cook, and I don’t want flour tortillas when I know they’ll make my stomach swell up like a balloon.

So after a day of bootcamps and filming interviews, I biked over and whipped this baby up in no time flat, served with a salad topped with salsa, and even had some wine. Life is good.

image

Gluten-Free Chicken Enchilada Bake

Ingredients

  • 1lb organic, free range chicken breast (if you’re a snob like me)
  • 4 gluten free tortillas (I used Estilo A Mano – Organic Corn Tortillas), or enough to cover the bottom of a 13×9 baking dish
  • 4 oz. shredded monterey jack cheese (I used Trader Joe’s organic, grass fed)
  • 1.5 cups enchilada sauce
    • 2 T whole milk
    • 1.5 cups chicken broth
    • handful of onion, chopped
    • 1 serrano pepper, seeded and diced
    • 3 T olive oil
    • 6oz. tomato paste
    • palmful ancho chili powder
    • palmful garlic powder
    • half palmful cumin
    • half palmful oregano
    • salt/pepper
      • Cook serrano pepper and onion in 3 T olive oil until soft. Add remaining ingredients and whisk together on medium heat until hot. Blend with an immersion blender if you have picky eaters who won’t eat whole peppers and onions (sigh).

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Cover the bottom of a 13x9inch pan with your tortillas. Cut in half and rotate around if you need to. Cut chicken into chunks and sautee with salt and pepper until cooked through. Spread evenly over your tortillas. Pour on enchilada sauce. Sprinkle your cheese. Bake in the oven until cheese is bubbly; about 10-12 minutes.

6 thoughts on “Move Over Trader Joe's

  1. YUM! I agree about soybean oil. It should be banned. And on Whole30, you can’t have soy, and I’m sure you can imagine how many “all natural” things are laden with soy lecithin or soybean oil!

    • sexyflexi says:

      Oh I know… I attempted the Whole30 in August and it was REAL frustrating. I try and avoid soy anyway, so I prefer to make stuff from scratch. Always tastes better!

  2. Crap. I wish I had kept up better with your blog. Your “fit” on the bike is everything. Seat height, bar angle/height/distance from seat, etc. Tiny little changes like what you did can be the difference between riding 5 miles and hurting and riding 40 miles pain-free.

    If your bike is fit right to you – you are in good enough shape to ride 30-50 miles without issue.

  3. Thank you so much for this recipe. Just found out today I HAVE to go gluten free for the next two weeks, so I’m on a mission to do it tastefully as possible πŸ™‚

    • thesexyflexi says:

      you’re in luck pretty lady! I’ve finally accepted the fact that I will continue to feel yucky if I don’t ditch the gluten, no matter how much I love to eat cookies for lunch.
      there will likely be an ongoing slew of GF recipes in the near future. I also marked everything on my recipe page to say if it’s GF, paleo, vegetarian, etc. πŸ˜‰
      While I definitely agree, paleo is a very attractive way to go, I still have a hard time kicking the sugar and occasional GF tortilla or some quinoa. Baby steps πŸ™‚

      • Yay!! Thanks so much. Right now I’m totally bastardizing everything I can get my hands on and making it gluten free. Eventually I will move towards a cleaner way of life, but right now, I’m sick and crabby and I want muffins and pancakes. Bring on the almond flour!

Leave a Reply

