Carbs and Heavy Things

So October is apparently the month where I like to really kick my butt in gear; I did it a year ago and lost 10lbs fairly quickly, so let’s see if I can make that happen again, huh?

I started the NROLFW on Friday and I’m liking it so far. When I go to weightlift without a plan, I end up working hard, but really spastically, almost like I’m trying to get myself to do every kind of lift I can think of. Not a really great way to see results.

It’s also possible my 5-6 day a week workouts on top of biking everywhere weren’t getting me over my plateau, so I’m scaling back and switching things up.

Playing on a coed softball league now, so in addition to games, there will be practices and some “me” time at the batting cages since I suck need to brush up on hitting.

I’ll do check-ins every so often with my weight numbers so you can stay in the loop, if you want to. I scaled back from what I was doing to try and really nail my form through all of this; I know my squats weren’t deep enough before, and as my back screamed at me through the evening, I realized my deadlifts were off too (re: mistake maker).

2 sets of 15 reps-
Squat: 125
Seated Row: 50
Step Up (DB): 25
Deadlift: 120
DB Shoulder Press: 17.5
WG Lat Pull: 60
Lunges (I used KBs): 20

Yesterday was also day 1 of carb backloading prep. Basically, I’m back to eating strict paleo for 10 days and while the first Whole30 didn’t really work out for me, 10 days seems to be where I can comfortably push myself to without turning into a total nut job and binging like crazy. So far I’ve had lots of eggs, salmon and chicken, lots of greens, and crispy dried pineapple as a treat. It can get kind of frustrating, but then I remember I get to go back to eating delicious things like pancakes in 9 days.

And so for my fellow gluten free friends…

Backload-Worthy Gluten-Free Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Pancakes

image

  • 1 cup all-purpose gluten free flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon nectresse (or a few drops of stevia, or a TB of maple syrup)
  • 1 rounded teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons canned pumpkin puree
  • 4 egg whites
  • large handful Enjoy Life mini chocolate chips
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter

Beat egg whites until light and frothy. Combine with the remaining ingredients. Place a large skillet over medium heat and brush with non-stick medium of your choice (I like butter; you could use coconut oil or something of the like). Dollop in your batter in 1/4 c. – 1/2 c. douses. Cook until browned on one side and then flip. Cook for an additional 1 minute or so. Repeat until the batter is gone. DEVOUR!

11 thoughts on “Carbs and Heavy Things

  1. Those look so delicious! Thanks for sharing!
    I am so pumped you are going to try Backloading. I have found it to be the least stressful least binge inducing way of eating I have ever tried. It takes so much stress out of meal planning and takes away the guilt associated with the occasional “dirty” item you eat. It is just… Easy and natural!
    You will do fine these ten days, you’ve done it before – and the last day is AWESOME!!

    • thesexyflexi says:

      Well after you posted about it and I read more, I realized I tend to already eat this way, and definitely prefer it, but I have a lot of guilt and negative vibes associated with nighttime carbs which right now is the predominant thing encouraging the binge/purge cycle, so I’m hoping this will help with things all-around (especially muscle building)

      • I am so trying this backloading thing! Thanks for sharing it! I too tried paleo and really struggled with not having the odd carb here and there…and it ended up in binging on a ridiculous amount of carbs and felt horrible after.

      • thesexyflexi says:

        no prob! carbs and I have a very interesting relationship… while too many carbs definitely hinder my weight loss, if I deprive myself too much, especially on workout days, the bipolar monster is unleashed which then awakens the ED monster, and then no one is happy.

Leave a Reply

