What Self-Love and Acceptance Look Like in the Real World

Today’s post is reblogged from Christie Inge, whom I find to be hugely inspirational in my recovery 🙂

Hello, hello!

This week, I want to talk to you about self-acceptance in the real world. On last week’s BLAPC call, I joked that I think there is a common misconception that I sit in front of the mirror all day, rubbing my curvy belly with luxurious lotion, and espouse my deep love and gratitude for my body. And, while, yes, I do look at my belly with love and appreciation, it ain’t all roses, rainbows and butterflies either. I still have my moments. Why? Because self-love and self-acceptance is a practice, not a perfect.

This is always true.

A while back, I wrote a post that was really, really popular on this very topic. So, I took that post out of the archives, polished it up a bit, and am sharing the new version with you here.

Self-Love and Self-Acceptance in the Real World

For many women, the idea of self-acceptance is a foreign, unattainable concept that is for other women, not them. Whether it is the saggy boobs, the stretch marks, the extra {insert random number of pounds here}, the wrinkles on your face or the size of your thighs, the thought of loving our selvesjust as we are even seems ludicrous to many. You probably ask yourself questions like:

How can I love myself when I look like this?

How can I love myself when I’ve made so many mistakes?

How can I accept myself when I can’t seem to get food and my weight under control.

How can I love and accept myself when all I am bombarded with is societies standards of beauty and I don’t even come close?

How can I love and accept myself?

And so, when I write about why you should love your body now or the importance of self-acceptance, I get a lot of questions. You want to know  how to actually apply these sort of “woo-woo” concepts to your real life with your real body. So, today, I’m digging this oldie but goodie out of the archives* to talk about just that.

In real life, self-love and self-acceptance looks like standing in the mirror and admiring your body with deep love and gratitude . Sometimes, that means only focusing on that one single part you really do love (like maybe the collar bones you recently found or your eyes, maybe even just your wrists). And sometimes, it means sitting in a pile of emotional mush on the floor wondering why it is so easy some days and so fucking hard on others.

In real life, self-love and self-acceptance looks like super self-care. Long, hot baths, luxurious lotions and potions. Painted nails, massages and pedicures. Plucked eye brows and waxed hoo hoos. And other days, it looks like grey roots and hang nails.

In real life, self-love and self-acceptance looks like a peaceful relationship with food filled with fruits, vegetables, tons of water and plenty of protein. And it also looks like cheeseburgers, french fries and pizza. Add on some nutella, ice cream and potato chips for good measure.

In real life, self-love and self-acceptance looks like long walks through the woods, yoga, kitchen dance fests, playful cartwheels, and hula hoops. And some days, it looks like a long day on a cozy sofa with blankies, slippers, and The Real Housewives.

In real life, self-love and self-acceptance looks like quiet time, meditation, feeling your feelings, managing your mind, and good books. It looks like deep conversations with friends and peace of mind. And sometimes, it looks like an emotional basket case with tears and snot pouring down her face.

In real life, self-love and self-acceptance looks like love. And it also looks like loathing and hate.

In real life, self-love and self-acceptance looks like all of these things. And everything in between.

Because, in real life, true self-love and self-acceptance is not perfect. It is compassionate and understanding of the human experience. It embraces the highs, the lows and everything in between. In real life, self-love and self-acceptance loves what is, except when it doesn’t. In real life, self-love looks like learning, growing, healing, laughing and crying.

True self-acceptance is a process, that happens in real life. With real human emotions. With for real human thoughts.

And, so, my dearest, don’t worry if you haven’t figured out how to get it just right. Or if you haven’t figured out why some days you can feel peaceful and loving and others days, not so much.

You are where you need to be, right now, and always.

Self-love and self-acceptance isn’t just for those girls who seem perfect on the outside, or who seem to have it all together, or who seem to be able to “do it” in spite of their circumstances.

Self-love and self-acceptance is for you and me, too.

True self-love and self-acceptance is a practice, not a perfect.

Upcoming Classes in the BLAPC

Are you ready to take this conversation even further? This month is the Body Love Alchemy Private Community, our focus topic is The Truth About Self-Acceptance. Join us.

The Truth About Self-Acceptance

October 2nd* and 16th at 2 PM EST (will be recorded if you can’t attend live)

Just the idea of self-acceptance can be overwhelming for many. There is a lot of fear that self-acceptance means “giving up” or being “conceited” or “selfish”. Another common issue is a pragmatic one – what is it, what does it look like in real life, and how do I do it? This October, we will address all of these issues so that you can begin your path of true self-acceptance.

*MP3 Recording is available for download along with over 25 hours of additional classes.

Rock Your LOA Mojo

October 23rd at 2 PM EST(will be recorded if you can’t attend live)

Learn to rock your Law of Attraction mojo with Guest Expert CJ Blaquera. Gain insight into common misconceptions about LOA as well as how to harness your power to deliberately create what you want. Learn when jealously is a good thing and why doing C+ work gets it done the LOA way.

I love hearing from you so feel free to share your insights!

Wishing you love, peace and self-acceptance,

Christie Inge, HHC
Body Image and Intuitive Eating Coach
www.christieinge.com
www.bodylovealchemy.com

Christie Inge is a life coach who works with women who are ready to make peace with food and their bodies and is the creator of The Body Love Alchemy Private Community. After years on the diet and binge roller coaster, she realized that the answers she was looking for had nothing to do with the size of her blue jeans or the food on her plate.  She set out onto a quest to make peace with food, her body and her weight once and for all. She began sharing her experiences on her popular, heartfelt blog. Overtime, she found that her greatest gift was helping women, just like her, overcome their struggles, too.She has taken what she learned in the school of hard knocks and coupled that with what she has learned in her professional trainings to create a system that has helped thousands of women to make peace with food and to stop hating their bodies. No get thin quick schemes. No magic wands. Just real results.

Leave a Reply

