Double Double, Toil and Trouble

Fire burn and cauldron bubble! It’s Halloween!!! Started it off right by watching most of Hocus Pocus with the boy last night, and had a pumpkin protein shake before lifting this morning.

Going up to the boy’s sisters to help hand out candy after work. I’m kind of excited; the only other time I’ve handed out candy was when I was 5 and too sick to trick or treat (which probably meant I shouldn’t have been breathing on the children coming to the door; oh well).

I’ve always loved Halloween. Granted, what fat kid doesn’t love free candy? But I love to dress up, and see other people dress up. Maybe it’s the performer in me. Halloween finally justified my need to become another person. For as long as I can remember I would put on elaborate shows for my grandmother, complete with costume changes. As I got older, I would give her lines to say while I performed the lead role in Cinderella or Gretel after the witch locks her in the cage (dramatic much?). Now I just need someone to pay me to do it, and I’ll be a happy camper!

The last day of the month also brings with it: FOODIE PENPAL REVEAL DAY!

My box of treats was sent to me by Danica, who claimed to not have much time to shop, but sent me some awesome Trader Joe’s goodies!

image

My readers know how much I love my pumpkin, and that can didn’t last long in the apartment, between smoothies and ice cream…

I’ve been using the seasonings on EVERYTHING. Seriously, that “Everyday Seasoning” is like god’s gift to my salads.

Plowed through the candied ginger in about a week… perfectly sweet and spicy to satisfy my chewy candy cravings.

I haven’t used the figs yet… I’d been saving them for a paleo baking recipe that I never got around to, but I promise to update when I do. Maybe this weekend?

And finally, she fulfilled my request for black tea! 🙂 This will be perfect and super helpful in the upcoming weeks…

I sent a box of treats to Danica on the east coast, just south of my hometown! Here’s what she had to say:

Sam is my first Foodie Penpal—and she sent me some wonderful, fall foods! I was covering reception at work this Monday (when our receptionist takes lunch some people at my office take turns covering the phone for him), and our UPS guy dropped of our packages…including Sam’s! As you can imagine, getting mail at work is exciting, but getting it on a Monday is pretty great! Anyways, I opened the package immediately…

(though I didn’t snap a pic until I got home later that day)

A pumpkin theme! Pumpkin bread mix from Trader Joes, pumpkin butter, and a pumpkin dessert! Also some of Sam’s favorite snacks and treats—sweet almonds, seaweed snacks (I was intrigued), cookie dough chocolate, and wine flavored sausage. Best of all, a hand written note 🙂 I never get those, so it was definitely a very nice touch.

THANK YOU, SAM! I’m looking forward to this weekend and baking the pumpkin bread, served with pumpkin butter on the side! 

Hopefully this has gotten you in the spirit for tricks and treats. If you’re in the L.A. area, you should come out for a Fleet Feet Pub Run complete with $4 pints at Tony’s Darts Away!

Come back tomorrow to find out how I did on my October goals, and to set some new ones for November!

Happy Halloween!!!

5 thoughts on “Double Double, Toil and Trouble

    • sambangs says:

      1/4 cup pumpkin, 1 cup almond milk, 2 big handfuls of spinach, tsp of molasses, scoop of protein powder, 3 ice cubes, and a few pinches of pumpkin pie spice.
      delish!!!

      • sambangs says:

        Right now I’m using chocolate actually, but you can’t really notice…
        I’m a big green smoothie fan, but I know it’s an acquired taste. I’m sure it would work with the cake batter!!!

Leave a Reply

