How Sweet It Is

So my favorite thing I made for Thanksgiving other than the salad was probably the sweet potatoes. I toyed with the idea of using marshmallows, but I decided to keep it vegan and paleo instead. Coconut and cashew butters added a really nice dimension that I think beat whatever marshmallows would have tasted like, but give it a shot for yourself and see if I’m lying.

Sweet and Nutty Sweet Potatoesimage

  • 6-7 medium sized sweet potatoes (or yams)
  • 1 T coconut butter
  • 1 T cashew butter
  • 1 T maple syrup
  • 1 T allspice
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/8 c. raw milk/whole milk/almond milk
  • salt and pepper
  • toasted walnuts (I made my own this time; 1 T coconut butter over medium heat, sprinkled with a little cinnamon until the nuts start to brown)
Bake or boil your potatoes. Remove the skins. Mash up with all the ingredients except the walnuts. Put in a nice bowl. Top with the walnuts. Pig out!
Also on the menu was….
image
Cheesy Butternut Squash. I roasted a squash, cubed it, and then tossed it in the boy’s macaroni and cheese sauce.

image

The amazingly brined Turkey (recipe from Alton Brown)

Tomorrow I’ll give you the recipe for my gluten free stuffing, and a workout so you can burn off all this food 😉

2 thoughts on “How Sweet It Is

Leave a Reply

