Super Salad

It’s a bird… it’s a plane… it’s….fire

Wrong superhero. Although, props to Marvel for creating so many sexy redheads.

I’m talking about a super SALAD. Or rather, a SOUPer salad.

I try to eat at least one salad a day, but with the cold weather (and now with this stupid illness) the LAST thing I want to be eating is a cold, crunchy salad.

What I want is a steaming bowl of soup. Preferably accompanied by a grilled cheese.

Unfortunately, my tummy hates regular grilled cheese, and I’m not a huge fan of the chicken-vegetable style soups out there.

I do LOVE this pepper-tomato number from Trader Joe’s though.

57879-tomato-roasted-pepper-soup

Lately what I’ve taken to doing is simmering some chicken breast in it and serving THAT over my salad. The greens get wilty and delicious, the protein in the chicken satiates hunger, and the soup keeps me warm.

All you need to do is fill a shallow saucepan with 1 to 2 cups of the soup…

Soup_4

Throw in your chicken breast, and head over medium until the chicken is cooked through.

Eat it up with some quinoa or use my trick and have it as a salad. I’m really loving this blend of greens right now…

OrganicGirl-Supergreens

You’ll be feeling super in no time 🙂

2 thoughts on “Super Salad

  1. I would never think to pour soup over salad.. I’m not convinced. 🙂

    I’ve always been partial to chicken noodle. Or chicken rice. Or creamy chicken noodle and/or rice. lol. I’m scared to go outside my comfort zone 😉

    Growing up, we would have grilled cheese, and mom would make tomato soup for her and my dad, and I never got into liking tomato soup. But man, grilled cheeses are awesome, aren’t they? Find a paleo-version of that and I’m sold 😉

Leave a Reply

