Cool Story, Bro.

My life has stayed steadily crazy.

Nothing incredibly new to report which is why I haven’t been posting.

My puppy is growing, but is still insanely adorable.

0112131900

Been going on auditions and getting called in for more (I have one today in fact!). Rehearsals are going well; we open in a month and a week!

trainspotting

NROLFW is starting to progress; I’m on my 3rd workout of phase three and I definitely prefer this phase so far (though I do miss back squats). Some guy at the gym yesterday tried to give me a “tip” because he thought I should probably move my hands closer on the lat pulldown as I “probably didn’t want a wide back.” I’m doing a wide grip pulldown on purpose you moron, now get away from me.

cool-story-bro

I’m still not really seeing the results I want… My quads are pretty insane, and my sartorius is at the cusp of being really defined, but otherwise I just feel kind of bulky and bloated.  I know a lot of it is diet, but I’ve been pretty conscious of what I’m eating. I’m just so sick of feeling unattractive.

Had a weird relapse moment in the grocery store this morning… We’re having the boy’s sister and her fiancé over for dinner tonight so I went to grab stuff for a healthy meal (organic chicken, asparagus, etc.) but as I walked through the bakery after grabbing my gluten free bread, I found myself sucked in by all the pastries and cakes, and I wanted to shove them all in my face. I stood there and contemplated how much money it would set me back to buy these things to throw them up…

And then I took a breath and kept walking. I reminded myself that while I may not be particularly thrilled with how my body looks right now, I’ve come a LONG way from a year ago, and going back to my old habits would not actually make me feel better, and would not get me any closer to my goals. So I drank my amazing almond milk latte from Republic of Pie (my only caffeinated coffee this week) and walked home.

Progress.

I’m running a 5k on Saturday and I’m feeling really good about my training for it. My half marathon training is another story…

A friend of mine said he would come up and do my long runs on Sundays with me.

don't worry JLaw, I make that face when I run too...

don’t worry JLaw, I make that face when I run too…

He has yet to show his face. My issue with this is not him bailing, it just holds me less accountable… and as such, I’ve o   nly managed to motivate myself for one “long” run; it wasn’t even that long. It’s going to be a slow race.

The boy won’t run with me either, which is a shame, because Hollywood couples always look so damn attractive when they’re working out together.

yes, please.

yes, please.

As I said, I’ve been conscious of what I’ve been eating, so I’ve really been trying to eat more eggs at breakfast… unfortunately I am just so SICK of eggs. Ugh.

So I came up with this recipe to revamp eggs for breakfast. The things I do for you people 😉

Mexican Breakfast Soup

IMG_20130128_085824

  • 2-4 eggs (depending on your caloric/protein preferences… I use 1 egg and 3 egg whites)
  • 1 cup tomato soup (with no weird stuff in it)
  • Palmful of spice (the boy made some of Emeril’s Essence for a recipe last week, so I’ve been using that and garlic, but cayenne, salt, cumin, oregano and pepper would do the trick)
  • ½ small avocado
  • 2 T whole milk plain European style yogurt (or full fat yogurt of your choice)
  • Salt and pepper for the top
  1. Heat the soup in a shallow saucepan over medium heat.
  2. When it starts to bubble on the sides, drop your eggs in.
  3. Cook your eggs to desired doneness and scoop your soupy mess into a bowl.
  4. Top with avocado, yogurt and salt/pepper.
  5. Devour.

I tweet and post on Facebook slightly more often than I blog, so be sure to follow and like me!

One thought on “Cool Story, Bro.

  1. Girl, you know working out takes time and no one is going to get instant results! Stick with it, and focus on the diet alongside the workouts. You can totally do this. Stay positive!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

