I'm Broken

Went to the psychiatrist last week to get back on some medication, and she’s put me on Saphris, which is an anti-psychotic that’s supposed to help me sleep.

Well it does, but she also said it wouldn’t cause weight gain… while looking up the possible side effect later, I notice that IT ALMOST GUARANTEES WEIGHT GAIN. Ugh. I’ll talk to her about it when I go back on Monday. It’s hard to say if I’ve gained because I got a surprise late visit from Aunt Flo, which explains the bloated feeling…

Because I’m a new patient and she’s prescribing meds, I had to go in search of a GP and BOY did I pick right! I used myuhc.com to find someone in my network and I came across Universal City Medical Group. Wouldn’t you know it, they’re a primary care facility that caters to ATHLETES and celebs. Because of this, they treat a lot of injuries in addition to providing mostly holistic care to their patients (he recommended more fish oil for the bipolar).

On the eval sheet I had to fill out, it asked about neck or back aches and I noted that I’ve been having some problems with my neck. It’s been feeling rock solid and really sore for a while, and the boy says it’s immovable. Awesome.

After explaining that I really couldn’t afford a proper evaluation (I was only there because the shrink ordered a physical be done), the doctor (and owner of the practice) said he’d take some x-rays, just to see.

Well kids, this is what a healthy neck should look like:

normalneck

This is what mine looks like:

badneck

He says because of the amount damage, it’s not something recent; it’s been building over time. The likely culprit is my years of dancing, exacerbated by my yoga practice (no more head or shoulder stands for Sam…).

So here’s something you might not know about me: I’m broke.

Just kidding. Of course you know that; I complain about it all the time.

But I’m like, extra super broke at this point. Luckily my amazing grandparents sent money to cover the $500 mental health deductible on my insurance, but I’m still paying rent at two places, have substantial student loan debt, and owe the IRS a whole bunch.

The doctor said I would need treatment 2-3 times a week to see any kind of improvement. During the physical, he offered to cut my copay in half to $15 for any physical therapy I might be interested in (before I found out the neck thing).

Which is awesome of him, except I can’t afford that 3x a week.

And guess what… I don’t have to. This doctor, whose office boasts pictures of celebrities, has ornate fish tanks, and receptionists who offer me ginger tea when I walk in, this doctor tells me I DON’T HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING. He just wants to see me get treated. WHAT?! Yes, apparently there are still amazing people in this world.

So in addition to my physical requiring no copay and my $400 medical deductible somehow being waved, I’m getting free treatment for something that if left untamed could mean HUGE knocks against both my careers as an actress and a personal trainer. That’s huge. I still can’t believe it.

If you live in LA and are looking around for a good GP, I highly, HIGHLY recommend this place. Look at their website’s description of their “Happiness Practice.” This place is just so totally my vibe. I mean, they already had me sold when they had Yogi tea while I filled out forms, but it turns out that Dr. Rekar is an incredible person, and doctor (he called the straight neck thing before I even got the xrays).

I have my first PT appointment with them tomorrow… I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

 

4 thoughts on “I'm Broken

  1. Wow that’s awesome!!

    And we’re neck twinsies.. mine looks almost identical! 😉 Thankfully I haven’t had any issues, but they want to fix me.. I’m not too concerned just yet but if I had any chronic problems I’d be a bit more likely to hand over my wallet..

    • sambangs says:

      yeah, I definitely wouldn’t be doing the treatment if they hadn’t waived the copay. so far, I think it’s one of those “worse before better” scenario, but hopefully it’ll work out!

  2. Holy crap Sam! Sounds like you’re dealing with a whole lot of suck right now. I hope your GP helps you find a happy balance between holistic and meds, and I hope your financial situation starts looking up too! I’m glad you are getting treated for your neck – hopefully you won’t have to worry about it hurting anymore! If you need anything please get in touch! I haven’t checked in with you in awhile, and I hope everything is ok!

    • sambangs says:

      Thanks girl! It’s a whole lot of not fun, but it should get better, hopefully.

      Money is always tight, but I’ve got my love to keep me warm 🙂

Leave a Reply

