Latest Obsession: Protein Shakes

Okay, my obsession with protein shakes isn’t all that new…

But I have them so often now thanks to my self-imposed liquid diet on show days that I wanted to share some of my favorite combos.

My base is usually the same…

  • Low Sugar/Low Carb Protein Powder (I currently use Market Pantry Vanilla Whey)
  • a big handful of spinach (yes, in everything)
  • some kind of low-cal milk substitute.

Right now, this is my milk of choice:

BlueDiamondAlmondCoconutMilkVanilla

 

Super tasty, low calorie and unsweetened. It’s the trifecta of milk substitutes.

Once I have my base, then I start to add extra stuff.

The go to is usually half a cup of berries. I like the Trader Joe’s brand…

berries

 

When I want something a bit sweeter, or more desserty, I throw in half a cup of pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice for a Thanksgiving experience…

pumpkin

 

If I’m truly replacing a meal (like on show days) and not just refueling post workout, I like adding half an avocado for some healthy fats.

Finally, if I’m feeling TRULY naughty, chocolate protein, half a banana, a scoop of almond butter and a handful of ice is a cup full of heaven.

Speaking of cups… if you’re making your smoothie ahead of time, I highly recommend one of these blender bottles:

blender

The boy and I each have one. They keep your shake from separating and turning into a chunky mess of… I don’t know. I don’t like to think about it. Some scary stuff happens when the spinach and almond milk separate and start to oxidize…

*shudder*

 

One thought on “Latest Obsession: Protein Shakes

  1. Pingback: Sweaty Survey | *

Leave a Reply

