FitBloggin’ 13

header13

First off, I want to say a HUGE thank you to everyone that donated so I could attend Fit Bloggin’ this year. It was an amazing experience and I am so grateful to have had the opportunity.

Naturally, I left my camera at home this morning so I’ll have to post pictures later, but I do have to confess I was pretty bad about taking them. Honestly, it was because the sessions themselves weren’t all that photo-worthy, but they WERE informative! I was particular inspired by a discussion session called: Motivating Your Community to Choose Healthy Lifestyles and while the rest of the seminars were incredibly helpful from the business of blogging standpoint (huge s/o to the Media Kit Seminar) I found myself incredibly affected by that first discussion.

Motivating my community is precisely why I wanted to become a personal trainer. I wanted to be able to help people  change their lives in regard to health and fitness. Specifically, those people who might not normally be able to afford it. While Gold’s Gym is an iconic company and no doubt has changed many lives, I’m terrible at selling their personal training packages. Why? Because I can’t honestly ask people to spend that much money to train with me and feel good about it.

Instead, I’d like to find a way to reach out to overweight teens and adults in the community that need help but don’t know how to get it, at a price that combats the excuse that health and fitness is too expensive. I’ve done a little digging into the LA community and am not finding anything so far. So I’m gonna start to advertise as an independent personal trainer again.

With the blogging skills I learned at Fit Bloggin’ combined with the kick in the pants I got from that discussion group, I hope to create a fitness outlet that I can feel passionate about. If you know anyone that needs help, send them my way!

More later 🙂

2 thoughts on “FitBloggin’ 13

  1. From what everyone says, it sounds like it was a blast!! Hopefully I can do a conference soon, but the whole finance thing makes it rough.

    Keep up the awesome work, Sam!!

    • sambangs says:

      It was amazing! I definitely wouldn’t have been able to go without the assistantship and everyone’s generosity. Maybe I’ll get to see you next year! 😉

Leave a Reply

