Deschutes Brewery

My first stop in Portland was to Deschutes Brewery where I met fellow NoHo-ite, Paola for some lunch.

P1000534

I’d found Deschutes because 1) they have gluten free beer and 2) they have an ENTIRE gluten free menu! Awesome-sauce.

I ordered the beer right off and wasn’t disappointed.

P1000535

GLUTEN FREE BELGIAN PALE ALE

Belgian Pale Ale made of 100% gluten free ingredients: brown rice, honey, and dark candy sugar. Bravo and citra hops and a belgian saison yeast are the main contributors to the aroma. IBUs 60 | Alcohol by Vol. 8%
It actually tasted like REAL beer in contrast to most of the fruity, or flat out nasty (cough, REDBRIDGE, cough) gluten free beers that are out there. The hops lent a very bold, but not overpowering flavor that went PERFECTLY with my meal.
P1000536
I went with the elk burger on a GF bun with a side salad (though the sweet potato fries Paola ordered were CALLING MY NAME!) and it was super tasty. The burger was cooked to medium-rare perfection and didn’t taste gamey like I expected it to. Instead it was lean and juicy, well complimented by the gruyère cheese and roasted shallot-thyme aioli. I polished off the whole thing, naturally.
Our waiter was very in tune to my GF needs, making sure to mention that the mustard on the table was (sadly) not GF and he even put a rubberband on my beer to make sure we knew the difference.
Naturall I ruined the whole GF experience by sampling their Black Butte XXV, but hey, it was free… and their birthday… didn’t want to be rude 😉
P1000538
It was PHENOMENAL and totally worth it… rich and slightly bitter, with hints of chocolate and fig. I’m drooling.
If you’re in the Portland area, I definitely recommend checking out Deschutes for a low-key and casual lunch or dinner. Plus you can even watch them brew some of the beers on site!
P1000542
Two thumbs way up.
210 NW 11th Ave.
Portland, OR 97209
(503) 296-4906
Leave a Reply

