Breakfast Quinoa

I had a particularly lazy morning today…

After getting up at 7:30 to let the puppy out, feed her breakfast and pack the boy’s lunch, I reset my alarm for 9:30.

That was ambitious.

A couple Multiple snoozes later, I finally rolled out of bed around 10:30, rather groggy,and intensely hungry.

I’ve been pretty lazy for breakfast lately, opting for smoothies or Siggi’s plain yogurt with strawberries. Siggi’s is AWESOME by the way, if you’ve never tried it… 15g of protein for 80 calories; are you KIDDING?! Is that even ALLOWED?!

Sadly I’m out of Siggi’s, which left me with: cereal (not filling enough), a smoothie (meh) or eggs (double meh). I knew I should eat eggs… I need the protein. But for whatever reason, the idea of eating eggs has just been grossing me out lately. Perhaps I’ve eaten too many? Regardless, I knew I wouldn’t be able to choke them down.

Some strange voice inside me said “you want oatmeal” which is weird, because I NEVER eat oatmeal. I don’t even have any in the house. But then I remembered seeing a few posts floating around that essentially used quinoa as oatmeal, and so breakfast was created.

I was a little impatient waiting for the quinoa to cook… but I brewed some coffee in the meantime and chugged two glasses of water with my Nutrilite vitamins (courtesy of Fitbloggin’) and my Proba Yo bears (courtesy of Vitacost).

The end result was pretty good… the consistency reminded me of steel cut oats, but there was some weird, bitter taste that I couldn’t place… maybe I needed to rinse the quinoa?

Despite that weird taste, it was still good. I satisfied the oatmeal urge AND ate an egg, while still getting my butt out the door before noon so… a win overall. Recipe is below. If you try it, let me know how it is. If you’ve made something similar before, did you get a weird bitter taste too?

Breakfast Quinoa

Breakfast Quinoa

(serves 1)

  • 1/4 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp salt
  • sweetener of choice (I used monk fruit)
  • 1/8 cup almond milk
  • 1 egg white
  • fruit (optional)
  1. Combine quinoa and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil.
  2. Add spices, vanilla and sweetener. Reduce hear and simmer for 15 minutes.
  3. Whisk in egg white and almond milk, turning heat back up to medium high.
  4. Continue to cook for roughly 5 minutes or until the egg white seems cooked (the quinoa should become thick)
  5. Serve with fruit if desired!

Enjoy! Hopefully it perks up a lazy morning for you… the only thing getting me through today is knowing I have DATE NIGHT with the boy to look forward to tomorrow 🙂

Need more protein in your life like me? Head over the The Actor’s Diet and enter the Del Real Foods Party in a Box giveaway for fun stuff like carnitas, barbacoa, tamales and more!

One thought on “Breakfast Quinoa

Leave a Reply

