Birthdays

So my birthday is coming up this weekend, and I think it’s been bumming me out. Not necessarily the whole getting older thing… (although it certainly doesn’t help)

birthday

I feel like 24 is a really weird age. Most people my age celebrate their birthdays by getting crazy; going out to clubs and being stupid. Now, I don’t necessarily WANT to do that, but part of me feels like I’m missing out on something by not doing so. Like I’m supposed to have experienced more of the stupidity of youth. I felt the same way being engaged in college… happy, but lacking a sense of belonging.

I think part of it is not having a ton of friends. Granted, I have more than I did when I first moved out here, but I can’t help but feel lonely sometimes. I secretly wanted to have a party this year, but when I tried to think of who I would invite and who might actually come, I started to get a little depressed. Not to mention, I can’t afford to provide food and drink for a party anyhow.

And then that just reminds me that I’m almost halfway through my twenties and I still don’t have my shit together; which makes me more depressed.

So I’ve been a little mopey, which led to me drinking and bingeing on Netflix while the boy was gone this weekend, which has resulted in my feeling very fatigued this week. Still went to CrossFit yesterday for “Annie” though. Double-unders are kicking my butt. I still can’t do more than two in a row. Did mostly singles for the WOD, which meant multiplying the 50-40-30-20-10 progression by THREE. That’s a lot of jumping rope.

Getting new headshots done on Tuesday by an AMAZING photographer, so I can’t really afford to overindulge for my birthday weekend like I usually do.

Generally I would see this as an opportunity to throw caution to the wind, visit Aroma and Republic of Pie in the same day and eat to my heart’s content.

cake

Instead, I am baking gluten free cupcakes for the store event, probably eating a lot of salad and maybe biking or running on Sunday.

veggies

Or maybe I’ll do this BIRTHDAY WOD!

Sam’s Birthday WOD:

2 mile run + 4 rounds:

  • 24 air squats
  • 24 sit ups
  • 24 burpees
  • 24 push ups

Made it bodyweight so you can do it anywhere… if I was doing it in the gym, you can bet your butt I’d be lifting heavy instead.

2 thoughts on “Birthdays

  1. What you are feeling is totally natural and I can 100% relate. I’ve turned into the biggest birthday bummer in the back half of my 20s. Even though it seems like a depressing time because you don’t have a million friends and crazy intentions for your special day, it really means you have your priorities straight, and you have found the people who are meant to be in your life. Not having to juggle a million acquaintances is one of the best things about growing up, so embrace it. Happy early birthday!!

    • Thanks!!!

      I totally get what you’re saying, and I would honestly rather spend the money to re-do our bedroom as opposed to dropping dollars on a party or going out… I just always thought that complacency would come with a ring on my finger 😉

      Secretly, I’ve been 40 for the past five years haha

Leave a Reply

