Obstacle Training – Workout 1

I’ve started training for my two obstacle races in January, the 7SAR and the Spartan Super Sprint. The run training comes from coaching the Team Pablove marathon group. The obstacles are supplemental, and I’ve invited others in the area running the races to train with me for free. (If you’re interested in getting in on it, there’s still a chance.)

We met for our first workout on Saturday and I kicked some butts… including my own. Luckily there’s a park nearby that has an “adult playground” with things to climb on and attached my resistance bands too. Add in some free weights and bodyweight exercises and we’ve got a well-rounded program.

This Saturday is going to be interesting, as I have an audition right after and have to look nice, but I plan on still creating another intense workout. Here’s last week’s to give you an idea:

WORKOUT RECAP – SATURDAY 11/9

Warm Up:
Bear Crawls
Crab Walks
Inch Worms

Round 1 – 1 minute on, 30 seconds off, 3x
Burpees
Pull Down/Pull Up (resistance bands up high)
Hanging Knee Raises

Round 2 – 1 minute on, 30 seconds off, 3x
Jumprope
Push Down (resistance bands up high)
Goblet Squat (15+ lbs)

Round 3 – 1 minute on, 30 seconds off, 3x
Mountain Climbers
Step Ups

Leave a Reply

