Cardio Barre – Studio City

I used to bike past Cardio Barre everyday when I was still working as a production coordinator on an independent doc. The large glass windows overlooking Riverside Drive give you a clear look into what always seemed to be a rather large group of good looking middle-aged women in yoga pants doing leg lifts at barres.

I was skeptical to say the least; but when I started my ClassPass adventure of trying different barre classes, I knew I had to give Cardio Barre a shot.

The Studio City location is the original studio Richard Giorla opened in 2001. It has a tiny parking lot (very difficult to navigate in the Bronco) with spotty street parking. The studio itself it the largest barre studio I’ve been in so far, with three long bars in the middle of the room, 3 walls of bars, and a side wall of cubbies/music area/etc.

I’ve taken the beginner class with Kevin Sateri twice now… and I freaking LOVE it. I had to go back after the first one before I posted about it just to make sure it wasn’t some kind of fluke.

From their website:

Cardio Barre is a unique, high energy/no impact exercise class that combines barre work and light weights with continual fat burning motion. Central to the workout are toning and resistance exercises for the butt, legs, torso and arms to sculpt muscles and elongate the appearance of your body.

This is the first barre workout I’ve done where I truly feel reconnected to my dancer self. Perhaps it’s because it’s the first studio to be founded by an actual dancer/choreographer? There’s just something about hearing the french terms where my body falls back into the proper form; Kevin even complimented my technique after class and internally I BEAMED.

The hour-long workout does consist of some leg lifts (battements), but it combines balance, and poise with fluid repetitions and light weights. There’s an emphasis on elongation of the muscles, alignment of the spine, and most importantly – strength of the core. My one complaint would be that I could probably do all of the arm work with a heavier weight (we were instructed to grab 1lb weights – they probably go heavier in the advanced classes), but I do like that the majority of the arm work is combined with leg work at the same time, keeping with the idea of port de bras and constant motion (hence CARDIO barre).

The class moves quickly, Kevin keeps you smiling, and despite its ballet roots, the whole thing feels delightfully unpretentious. Plus, at $18/single class, it’s one of the cheaper barre class options around. While that’s still out of my price range, I’m half tempted to continue with ClassPass, if only to go to the studio 3/month.

If you love the idea of dancing to connect with your body while getting in a great workout, I definitely recommend checking this studio out – particularly class with Kevin since I can’t speak to the other instructors. I’m sure they’re lovely though.

I have 10 days and 3 ClassPass classes left… any recommendations? Do I NEED to try your favorite workout? Let me know!

Cardio Barre – Studio City
12530 Riverside Drive
Studio City, CA 91607
(818) 761-4525
studiocity@cardiobarre.com

Leave a Reply

