Bagels, Running(ish), and Bumps

I know my last post had a lot of whining, so I just wanted to make sure people knew I was making an effort to keep this pregnancy as healthy as possible.

Despite the few fast food trips, my diet has been mostly the same as pre-pregnancy; just extra calories and a little heavy on carbs. Depending on the day, I’ll start the morning with my pre-natals, some OJ and a bowl of cereal if I’m going to the gym, or a smoothie if I’m running around to clients. If it is a gym morning, I’ll have a protein shake afterwards. After our beach run on Saturday I started craving bagels, so I went and picked up some whole wheat everything and sprouted grain cinnamon raisin from Western Bagel and have been eating those with some cream cheese. Bagels were always one of my “forbidden foods” so it’s nice to feel like I’m “allowed” to eat them again… in moderation, of course.

Lunches have been a random assortment of things, but caesar salad seems to be a staple. Sometimes I can stomach leftovers, and sometimes I’ll have a loaded baked potato. I’m adding chicken back in more regularly, but it’s definitely one of the meats that still isn’t doing it for me… I can eat it, but I don’t like it.

Snacks are usually apples or pineapple, string cheese or Trader Joe’s Omega Trail Mix blend.

As for workouts… When I said “beach run,” I mostly meant my training participants ran their 16… I ran about 3.5 and then power walked in the sand for another 3.5. We went out the night before so I was on 4 hours of sleep and SO TIRED.

Honestly, I’m tired most of the time, but I’m getting a little energy back. Was able to paint our room this weekend FINALLY so I don’t have to look at a ugly wall anymore. My trips to the gym have also been a lot easier to take and my muscles aren’t as fatigued. A couple weeks ago, unweighted step-ups were leaving me breathless. This week I’ve been able to incorporate some plyo back into my routine. I know the vanity aspect shouldn’t matter while I’m growing a person, but the definition in my quads is looking mighty fine for a pregnant lady…

I’ve had 3 ultrasounds so far and heard the heartbeat twice, so I know there’s a fetus in there… but it’s still kind of hard to believe. Everything looks healthy and normal with the development, so we’re very thankful for that. Definitely noticing a change in the torso, but looking more bloated than adorable baby bump.

12 and a Half Weeks

 

Note to self: clean mirror

Saturday is supposed to be an 11 mile run, so we’ll see how that goes. I should attempt it though since I’m throwing my first Superbowl Party (go Pats!) and intend to stuff my face since I can’t imbibe.

I’ve been reading Racing Weight to better relay training nutrition for the marathon group and it’s kinda giving me the itch to do another triathlon… not anytime soon, but maybe like, five months post-partum? In any event, it’s definitely helping me plan healthier meal options for the workouts that I do want to do in the meantime, so I’ll probably be blogging more diet/workout stuff.

This morning has been a little rough… woke up with a migraine and a very unhappy stomach, so I skipped the gym and got some extra sleep before starting with clients and all that jazz. I did force some cereal and OJ in me but it didn’t help a whole lot. Hoping it’ll clear up as the day goes on.

Mommy brain is in effect with full force today… I have tons to do but can’t seem to organize my thoughts enough to finish any one thing. Except for this post. I have priority issues.

Hope you’re having a good week! Any Superbowl plans?

Leave a Reply

