My Top 5 Pregnancy Must-Haves

sambangspregnancymusthaves

At nearly 6 months along (almost 3rd trimester – yay!) I’ve been through a LOT of ups and downs with this pregnancy. I feel very lucky to have been able to stay as active as I have, and honestly feel like I’m in the healthiest and best shape of my life.

Staying this active hasn’t exactly been easy and there have been plenty of days where I want to zone out on the couch and eat bags of jellybeans. I started putting together a list of my pregnancy must-haves, and realized that most of these things are what help me continue to be so on top of my fitness game. Yes, I consumed a LOT of ginger during the first trimester, and Healthy Mama still gets used on the reg, but these 5 items are really helping me survive this whole growing a person thing while maintaining a pretty challenging fitness regimen.

Snoogle Original by LEACHCO

Snoogle Original by LEACHCO

Let’s face it – no way you’re going to workout if you didn’t sleep the night before. While I don’t exactly sleep through the night, having this body pillow allows me to get mostly comfortable and fall asleep faster to begin with. I’m generally a back or stomach sleeper, so the whole side-sleeping thing has been an adjustment and this pillow has been a HUGE help. TJ bought it for me after I whined for a few weeks about wanting one, because he’s the best.

Adidas UltraBoost

Adidas UltraBoost

Swollen, achey feet suck. Adidas Ultra Boost helps it suck less. Normally I’m a firm, minimal shoe kinda girl, but I’ve needed some cushioning love to get through my harder workouts – especially the LA Half Marathon. I was already in love with Boost before the Ultra came out, and it’s no secret I’m biased towards Adidas in general, but I really love these shoes. The knit upper stretches with my foot throughout the day and breathes like a dream, and the sock fit makes them super easy to get on and off. The boost material is super cushioned but still really responsive, which is important when you’re trying not to fall on your face. I have the black ones but I’m lusting after this Tangerine color.

Fitbit Surge

Fitbit Surge

While many people like to use pregnancy as an excuse to eat for two, you really only need to take in an extra 300 calories each day. However, because I was used to eating a calorie deficit for weight loss prior to my pregnancy, it’s a LOT of extra calories for me. Add in the amount of exercise I do, and we’re looking at the caloric requirements of a male bodybuilder. Because the surge has a continuous heart rate monitor, I know how many calories I need to replenish throughout the day. I stopped trying to keep my HR at 140 and rely instead on the talk-test, but it’s nice to be able to keep an eye on it during more intense solo workouts where I have no one to talk-test to. It also links to MyFitnessPal, so I have everything in one place which is super convenient. It’s also really motivating on days where I’m feeling lazy to at least try to get some additional steps in.

Heating Pad

Heating Pad

Things hurt during pregnancy. And by things I mean ALL OF THE THINGS. I started getting lower back and sciatica pain a few days before LA Marathon, so TJ went to Target and got me the Sunbeam Moist and Dry Heating Pad. I haven’t used the moist option yet, but the heating pad is awesome. I’ve used it almost everywhere at this point, including on some pretty terrible knots that developed in my calves after the marathon. Now I mostly use it for lower back flare ups which seem to happen after running… not gonna stop me!

Insulated Cold Cup with Straw

Insulated Cold Cup with Straw

Everyone knows that drinking water is super important during pregnancy. When you work out a lot, you need to drink even MORE water. I’ve been carrying this guy with me since Christmas (TJ got it at a Starbucks back in NH on clearance – cheap AND no sales tax!) and I swear water tastes better in this cup. I think it has something to do with ALWAYS being cold in combination with the slight metallic taste of drinking through the straw. Regardless, having it with me is a constant reminder to stay hydrated. Plus I really like the colors.

What helps you stay active? Anything I’m missing in my list?

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Pregnancy Must-Haves

  1. Rizzle says:

    I have that same pillow and love it too! Only complaint is that the end I use around my head has gone nearly flat, and where my knees lie toward the bottom is starting to do the same. But it has been a life saver for sure! My husband is jealous of it because I snuggle it so much! HA!

    • I use my regular pillow underneath the head for extra cush so I haven’t noticed that going flat… I’m just starting to use the knee grip on it. I lie in a weird position so it’s spooning me so I can open up and ALMOST be on my back haha. I’m sure I look super attractive. TJ had been going on business trips a lot, so I’ve definitely taken over the bed while he’s gone.

Leave a Reply

